"Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Adafruit cellular platform - SMS and IoT over celluar

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

"Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

Hello !

I just bought the FONA 800 Shield and soldered the headers...
According to this topic : viewtopic.php?f=25&t=75671&p=383773&hil ... na#p383773
i cut the traces between the holes marked RX and TX and the ones marked 2 and 3 and then i soldered jumper wires from the RX/TX holes to the holes marked 8 and 9.

I ran the FONAtest example and changed :

Code: Select all

#define FONA_RX 8 
#define FONA_TX 9 
#define FONA_RST 4


I am getting "Couldn't find FONA" no matter what I do.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankx.

Here are some pictures : http://1drv.ms/1NoGogv

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I believe you need to have the switch in the RUN position for the FONA shield. Try that and see if it works.

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

adafruit_support_rick wrote:I believe you need to have the switch in the RUN position for the FONA shield. Try that and see if it works.
I tried that but it didn't work ! thankx anyway.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

This is strange. It should work. I just tried it with my shield and Leonardo, and it works just the way you have it, with RX jumpered to 8 and TX jumpered to 9.

Maybe there's something wrong with your solders? Can you try reheating the joints?

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

adafruit_support_rick wrote:This is strange. It should work. I just tried it with my shield and Leonardo, and it works just the way you have it, with RX jumpered to 8 and TX jumpered to 9.

Maybe there's something wrong with your solders? Can you try reheating the joints?
Ok I'll try that and get back to you. thx

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

I tried reheating the joints many times but still it doesn't work... I don't know what to do !

Maybe some pictures might help :

http://1drv.ms/1MYzvln

I also tried to use the FONA with putty. I followed this tutorial : https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-fon ... ing-to-usb
When i open the connection I just get a black window and when I type the first command : AT, nothing happens. "AT" is not even displayed.

thankx for your help.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Your picture album is empty.
You can post the pictures directly - use the "choose file" and "add file" buttons below the reply window. Picture files should be .jpg or .png, and less than 1M in size.

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

Oops Sorry ! here are the pictures :
one.jpg
one.jpg (638.64 KiB) Viewed 915 times
two.jpg
two.jpg (428.57 KiB) Viewed 915 times
Thankx

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I don't know. That should work. We can try replacing the Fona
Please email [email protected] with a link to this thread for a replacement

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

Hello
I received yesterday a new FONA in replacement of the one "that was not working".

Still it is not working.

Here is my setup (same as FONATest's)

Code: Select all

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include "Adafruit_FONA.h"

#define FONA_RX 8 //8 2
#define FONA_TX 9 //9 3
#define FONA_RST 4

// this is a large buffer for replies
char replybuffer[255];

// or comment this out & use a hardware serial port like Serial1 (see below)
SoftwareSerial fonaSS = SoftwareSerial(FONA_TX, FONA_RX);

Adafruit_FONA fona = Adafruit_FONA(FONA_RST);

uint8_t readline(char *buff, uint8_t maxbuff, uint16_t timeout = 0);

void setup() {
	while (!Serial);

	Serial.begin(115200);
	Serial.println(F("FONA basic test"));
	Serial.println(F("Initializing....(May take 3 seconds)"));

	// make it slow so its easy to read!
	fonaSS.begin(4800); // if you're using software serial
	//Serial1.begin(4800); // if you're using hardware serial

	// See if the FONA is responding
	if (!fona.begin(Serial1)) {           // can also try fona.begin(fonaSS) 
		Serial.println(F("WHY Couldn't find FONA"));
		while (1);
	}
	Serial.println(F("FONA is OK"));
}
[img]
20150806_121411[1].jpg
20150806_121411[1].jpg (923.58 KiB) Viewed 885 times
[/img]

[img]
Optimized-20150806_121430[1].jpg
Optimized-20150806_121430[1].jpg (573.23 KiB) Viewed 885 times
[/img]

What is wrong ? I did everything. Really Everything.
I don't know what to do anymore please help me.

Thankx

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Please post the exact output from Serial Monitor.

Do you have ADAFRUIT_FONA_DEBUG defined? If so, comment that out.

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

Here is the exact output :

Code: Select all

Port closed
Uploading to I/O board
Opening port
Port open
FONA basic test
Initializing....(May take 3 seconds)
Couldn't find FONA
ADAFRUIT_FONA_DEBUG is not defined.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Do you have another Arduino you can try this with? Or do you just have the Leonardo? I wonder if it's a problem with the Leo itself? Maybe try some different Leo pins for RX and TX? You can use any pin for TX, you can use any of 8, 9, 10, 11, 14 (MISO), 15 (SCK), 16 (MOSI) for RX

User avatar
gildas2526
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:14 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by gildas2526 »

I just bought The arduino Mega 2560 and I still have the same message...

The Leonardo is working fine i tried the NFC Shield with it and it is working.

Also I used pin 11 for Tx and still..

I don't know what i am doing wrong. Anyway is there another product different from the Fona that you can suggest me ?

Thankx

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: "Couldn't find FONA" on Arduino Leonardo

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

On the Mega, you have to use a different pin for FONA_TX. Use pin 11 for FONA_TX and pin 10 for FONA_RX

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “FONA”