Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l
Moderators: Altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, mome rath

Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by LoGiCa on Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:41 pm

Hi, I am trying to use the C0ntr0l software to edit the patterns on my Xoxbox.

I have got the right COM port and have even tried to connect the Xoxbox in Bootload mode but I get "Opened serial port COM1 at 19200 baud" then it just disconnects "Did not find XoXBoX"

I was able to connect ok before updating the firmware to the most recent SOKKOS.

Any ideas?
LoGiCa
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by antto on Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:55 pm

look around in the forum, there are posts about the parameters you have to change in the USB SerialPort driver
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)
User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by LoGiCa on Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:01 pm

Hi thanks for the reply.

I did not need to modify an settings but choose the correct COM port before I updated the firmware and that worked. But it no longer connects.

I am using Windows 7 x64
LoGiCa
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by altitude on Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:23 pm

Is this a technology transplant x0x by any chance?

altitude
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by LoGiCa on Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:26 pm

I got this from Xoxsource
LoGiCa
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by wonkyfunk303 on Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:42 pm

LoGiCa wrote:I got this from Xoxsource


i had the same problem with mine, let me think how i sussed it,

in device manager, go to the relative usb controller that is your x0x, go to properties and change the baud rate to low (8000 an something from memory) or even lower then bingo it should communicate with the x0x, alternatively look at my profile and read my posts as its in there...)

hope this helps, btw, maybe look at getting a ts-303 from analogue rennaisance, makes it sound even lovelier...

regards

jamie
wonkyfunk303
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:35 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by wonkyfunk303 on Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:44 pm

for ease of hunting:



* Report this post
* Reply with quote

Re: Updating Firmware issues....

Postby Uncle Monty » Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:55 am

wonkyfunk303 wrote:YAY!!!! I finally got it to work!! Went into the COMM settings and changed it to port 1 and then went into advanced settings and put it slower (baud 9600 i believe) I lowered everything also put something down to 8 (from 16), plugged in and voila! straight away it worked!

thanks for all your help guys, now i gotta punch a new layout overlay........ and re-learn all the stuff again...!! lol but it will be worth it! (just for the time-mode).

Great Stuff and once again, thanks everyone for your help! -- syncing to fl to suss now then im there.....



I couldn't connect either but using the information above I can confirm that it is the "Latency Timer" setting that needs to be taken down to 8 from 16. I didn't have to change the COM Port from COM4 though, and the baud rate appears to be immaterial once you adjust the latency.

Uncle Monty

Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:17 pm

* Private message
wonkyfunk303
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:35 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by LoGiCa on Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:28 pm

Still cant get this to work. I have followed the instructions above.

I have tried with Windows 7 and XP and even flashed the original Xoxbox firmware back on with JAvrProg, but I'm still getting the same problem... WTF
LoGiCa
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by LoGiCa on Wed Sep 15, 2010 3:13 pm

I have tried again this evening and still cant connect the X0X with c0ntr0l. I cant understand how JAvrProg can find and flash the unit but c0ntrol cant connect.

It's really starting to bug me to the point of selling the thing as I'm wasting time on this rather than making music....

Does anyone have any suggestions at all, it would be really helpful.
LoGiCa
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by LoGiCa on Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:52 pm

I have done nothing different this evening but it has finally connected. Weird...
LoGiCa
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by smokyfrog on Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:33 am

I've just got my hands on a Mode Machines Xoxbox and would dearly like to try the SokkOS. Trouble is neither of my PCs see it even though I've installed the control s/ware and USB serial driver. I can see a load of steps described in various places on how to get around the various problems with the USB serial thing and even achieve an update on Mac but, really, there's a good reason not to faff about with all that stuff.

Is the OS available as a plain sysex or .MID file? Pretty please... :)

Paul
smokyfrog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:29 am

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by altitude on Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:44 am

smokyfrog wrote:I've just got my hands on a Mode Machines Xoxbox and would dearly like to try the SokkOS. Trouble is neither of my PCs see it even though I've installed the control s/ware and USB serial driver. I can see a load of steps described in various places on how to get around the various problems with the USB serial thing and even achieve an update on Mac but, really, there's a good reason not to faff about with all that stuff.

Is the OS available as a plain sysex or .MID file? Pretty please... :)

Paul



No, only HEX so it has to be done via AVR programmer or the c0nt0l software.

altitude
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by smokyfrog on Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:53 am

Oh well, shame. I have this for a couple of weeks for review and would have loved to talk about the alternate OS, especially as the sequencer functions seem quite interesting.
Still, life's too short to get bogged down with COM ports in this day and age.
Cheers :)
Paul
smokyfrog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:29 am

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by altitude on Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:17 am


altitude
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:17 pm

Re: Cannot connect XoxBox with C0ntr0l

by smokyfrog on Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:45 am

Altitude wrote:Have you tried this one?: http://x0xsource.com/c0ntr0l_v1.0Eil.r10_Win32.zip


Ooh, looks like a different version (and filesize). So I definitely will.

Many thanks, will let you know if I make progress.
smokyfrog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:29 am