Midi play xoxbox problem
Moderators: Altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, mome rath

Midi play xoxbox problem

by xonec on Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:13 pm

Hi, I cant get my xox to play midinotes from a miditrack in ableton. Everything else works, like getting audio out of the xoxbox in sync with my ableton etc...
I saw this topic several times on the forum, tried al the explanations in the topics but it don't seem to work.
I must say i'm a noob in all of this.
I used this topics to make it work:

http://adafruit.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=20537

http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=27708

So, this is what I do:
midi interface midi out TO xoxbox midi in
Mix out xoxbox TO Stereo in 1&2 audio interface
Audio interface stereo out 1&2 TO my monitors
I set my xoxbox to midi play and select pattern group 2 because the midichannel in ableton is also 2
I made an audio channel in ableton to receive the audio from the xoxbox

Here you can see the specifications of my audio and midi track:

Problems xoxbox.png
Problems xoxbox.png (170.01 KiB) Viewed 3824 times

what am I doing wrong? I've spend hours finding a solution

Thanks in advance!!
xonec

Re: Midi play xoxbox problem

by LoopStar on Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:40 pm

you need to set your channel 2 (where the clip is the x0x should play) to 'auto'. It's set to 'off' so Ableton doesn'T send midi-notes.
website: http://www.myownmusic.de/artistpage_info.php?artist_id=141458
LoopStar

by xonec on Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:45 pm

Yes, I already tried that. But still no sound... Or do I have to set the xoxbox as master and ableton as slave?
xonec

by MMM on Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:25 pm

I'd start by testing if the xoxbox actually receives MIDI; and this I would test by syncing it to Ableton.

Open the preferences, enable sync for the MIDI output you're using, put the xoxbox into "Pattern MIDI Sync" mode and start Live. The xoxbox should start now as well and run in sync with Live.
MMM

by LoopStar on Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:32 pm