New here, just wanted to share...

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
VE3GZB

New here, just wanted to share...

Post by VE3GZB »

Hello from Canada

I caught an interview with a young lady on CBC today at work, her name is Limor Freid (sp?). She seemed to be very enthusiastic and energetic.

I work in electronics. I'm an electronics engineering technician, an amateur Luthier, musician and amateur radio operator (Advanced with honours, callsign VE3GZB, can be viewed on qrz.com).

I've been in electronics for my bread and butter for 25 years so far. I've worked in the food packaging industry, in Military and Industrial electronics repairs, General repairs, Stage and Studio moving lights industry, I've worked at the capacitor manufacturer "Sprague" in their electronics maintenance department and I currently work in RFID.

I wanted to share my POV with younger folks just getting into electronics today.

When I was a kid, I'd bike around and salvage vacuum tubes out of TVs and radios, then haul the parts home and build something wit them from scratch. Been doing electronics since I was 6 years old, started toying with light bulbs, motors, batteries, speakers, moved up slowly and by the time I got to high school electronics and music were my top graded subjects. Even got to repair the music amplifiers in music class if they broke down, also did repairs for other teachers in the school for extra marks.

When you do electronics for a living, there's an aspect of the job which will just suck the soul right out of you. That aspect is employers knowing that electronics folks do what they do for the art and love of it, so it's very common for employers to not only pay grossly subnormal wages for the amount of education and skill you have, but to also take your ideas and claim them as their own, to even patent them and leave you out of the process.