More fun with lighting costume wigs

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
hippyhillary

More fun with lighting costume wigs

Post by hippyhillary »

I have become a bit of a costume geek and i recently started workin electronics into my projects. I am a relative newb, but I managed to get a wig to glow without setting my hair on fire ;)
The new task is getting a wig to "change colors" via a light halo. I want to start with a blue wig and shine lights on it via an led halo hidden in a costume piece on top of my head. I want to use the color changing LED's (probably common anode but i'm open to suggestions). The final result will involve a lilypad/arduino board and probably the bluetooth attachment and all kinds of cool things, but for right now, I need a good way to test theoretically whether or not the lights will look the way I want them to when we shine them on the wig (and if not, if there's a way to make that work). For this test, I don't necessarily need the lilypad as long as i can get the led to shine each color for a while (even if it means manually retooling the prototyped circuit). Any suggestions on good ways to test this part of it? I have never used the rgb lights before, so all help is welcome.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: More fun with lighting costume wigs

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

To get the full range of colors these devices are capable of, you will need to connect it to something capable of independently fading the R, G & B channels.
Using a common anode RGB led http://www.adafruit.com/products/159, you could connect it to 3 PWM pins on a controller (such as the lilypad). Or connect the common anode to 5v and each of the 3 cathode pins through a potentiometer for manual adjustment.