powering 3 meter led strips with DC

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mohawkpiper

powering 3 meter led strips with DC

Post by mohawkpiper »

hey all,
im new to arduino and leds but have a project im currently working on that ive been wanting to do for a while... putting some controllable leds in a monowheel (7ft diameter wheel that you ride inside.)
the wheel frame is plastic and hollow so th leds show through.
(here is a test on one sixth of the wheel...)
http://www.moonlitmethod.com/addressable_leds_LOW.mp4

anyhow, i have 3 meters of Digital Addressable RGB LED w/ PWM strips totaling 96 leds. http://adafruit.com/products/306

was wondering if anybody has any good ideas about how to power them with rechargeable batteries?
i would like to use something along the lines of say a cell phone battery, where i can just plug a wall wart into it to charge it. the power source is going to be inside the bike frame, so it will be really hard/annoying to get to to swap batteries out or anything like that and they need to be small.

i was wondering if something along these lines would work...
say two 3.7V cell phone batteries (cheapish on ebay and the perfect size for what i need them for...)
maybe something like this..
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-Android ... BANNED

and a step down converter like this...
http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/2110

thoughts? input? better ideas?

thanks in advance

adafruit_support_rick

Re: powering 3 meter led strips with DC

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

The very first thing you need to decide on is how long you want them to run for. The RGB PWM strips take up to 2A@5V/meter. So, you need around 6A, not counting any current losses in your voltage regulator. Those cell phone batteries are rated at 1.5Ah, so they would give you a run-time of maybe 15 minutes.

adafruit_support_bill