TSL2561 and Raspberry Pi

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pandring

TSL2561 and Raspberry Pi

Post by pandring »

I want to use the TSL2561 with my Raspberry Pi, but your tutorial http://learn.adafruit.com/tsl2561/overview is for Arduino. I assume it's possible to use it with RPi, but I'm fairly new to this and don't know what I would need to do to get it to work with the RPi. What things do I have to do differently from the tutorial to get it to work?
Thanks!

adafruit_support_rick

Re: TSL2561 and Raspberry Pi

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

The TSL2561 is a 3.3V I2C device. You would wire it to the Pi the same way you wire it to the arduino - 3.3V, GND, SDA, and SCL.

We have a tutorial for using another I2C device, the BMP085, with the Pi. The wiring and I2C setup on the Pi will be essentially the same. Have a look and see if it gets you started…

http://learn.adafruit.com/using-the-bmp ... i/overview

static

Post by static »

I just ordered one of these to put on my Pi's I2C bus.
I'd like to integrate it into the remote thermal probe I have, but it is probably going to take some time. I'll let you know how it goes.
I gotta warn you, I'm a rank newbie, and my code is going to be dirty.

static

Post by static »

I had the package delivered to the wrong address. It's going to be a couple of days.
My apologies for the slight threadjack, but if you take a look at the code on the TMP102 issue that I'm having, and see any issues, it will help me with your code as well.
http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=35249

I'll let you know as soon as I get a chance to mess with the light sensor.

Static

pandring

Post by pandring »

Sorry it's been awhile, I've put this project off as I've had to work on some other ones.