limit amps to stepper motor?

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
heath1980

limit amps to stepper motor?

Post by heath1980 »

Hi,
I am a beginner to electronics and I am learning how to control a stepper motor using an Arduino. I have the motor running using the stepper_oneRevolution sketch. I am using a YM2754 stepper motor connected to a ULN2003 Darlington transistor array IC. I am using a guide from this link http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=102592.10;wap2 that mentions I should limit the current to 1.1 amps so that you don't over heat the motor.

I am using a 12v 1.5 amp external power supply and would like to know where I can learn how to limit the amps to the stepper motor. Although I might not need anything with the power supply I am using, I would like to learn how so that when I move to multiply motors I can use one power supply to power them all.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: limit amps to stepper motor?

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

There are circuits that control current, but making them work in the 1.1A range (and with a stepper motor) is a fairly advanced subject.

Honestly, the suggestion to limit the motor current is kind of a weak design choice. It basically says, "I picked the wrong parts but am trying to make them work anyway". It can be done, but you spend more effort working around the limits of the parts than making the basic circuit work.

The strong design choice is to pick a driver that can handle more current than the motor uses.. usually by a factor of 2 or more. If your motor wants 1.7A, find a driver that can handle 4A. That way nothing the motor can do will hurt the driver.