Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by amahpour »

Hi,

So I've finally got the CC3000 and Ethernet shield working with the Due but now trying to connect the XBee shield on top. I've jumpered the Tx and Rx lines of the XBee to different inputs on my Uno but that worked only because I made use of Software Serial. Software Serial is not compatible with the Due. How would I set this up? I propose to send them to some arbitrary pins like 50 and 51.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

There are three extra hardware serial ports on the Due on pins 14-19. Just jumper to one of those. Refer to them in code as Serial1, Serial2, or Serial3.

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by amahpour »

Hi,

So here's what I did:
Hardware
1. Bent away pins 0 and 1 (Rx, Tx) on the Sparkfun XBee shield.
2. Jumpered pin 0 (Rx) on XBee shield to pin 14 (Tx) on Due.
3. Jumpered pin 1 (Tx) on XBee shield to pin 15 (Rx) on Due.
4. Everything else is connected

Software
Used a simple sketch that worked with my Uno but removed SoftwareSerial and added this instead:

Code: Select all

Serial3.begin(9600);
xbee.setSerial(Serial3);
Result: Not receiving any data from my other XBee nodes.

What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by amahpour »

Is it possible that it's not working because of the the level shifting in the XBee shield Tx/Rx lines?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I don't know what levels are coming out of the XBee shield, but you shouldn't put 5V into RX3.
I doubt that's the problem, though. Just for laughs, how hard would it be to reverse RX and TX?

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by amahpour »

Oops. I guess that's what I get for engaging in late night coding/electronics. Thanks for the suggestion. It worked.

Just for reference, the Tx on the Sparkfun XBee shield means, "Connect this to Tx on the Arduino," and same with the Rx. I blame their schematics, Adafruit's schematics are generally better :-).

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Arduino + CC3000 + Ethernet Shield Webserver with AP

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Glad you got it working!

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “General Project help”