Cannot get simple LED to work on Raspberry Pi

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jcarlson

Cannot get simple LED to work on Raspberry Pi

Post by jcarlson »

Hello - electronics newbie here! I recently purchased the following products for my Pi (Model B)

Diffused Green 5mm LED - https://www.adafruit.com/products/298
Half-Size Breadboard - https://www.adafruit.com/products/64
Adafruit Assembled Pi Cobbler Breakout + Cable for Raspberry Pi - https://www.adafruit.com/products/914

Since I'm new to this - I'm trying to start simple - hooking up an LED to the 3.3v power so it should just turn on when the Pi has power.

I have the cobbler hooked up to the Pi and the breadboard (see picture).
Rpi LED wiring
Rpi LED wiring
IMG_0188.JPG (544.3 KiB) Viewed 671 times

The orange wire is hooked to row 1 (3v3), and the other end to row 20
The white wire is hooked to row 13 (GND), and the other end to row 25
A 370-ohm resistor is hooked up to row 25 (matching GND), and row 22
The LED has the short end (cathode?) hooked to row 22 (connected to resistor), and the long end (anode?) connected to row 20 (which is the other end of the 3v3 wire)

I would expect with this configuration, as soon as I turned on my Pi, the power should be coming from the 3v3 pin and turning on my LED. The LED never turns on.

So, I have two questions:

1) Does my wiring/configuration look correct? Would you expect the LED to turn on when the Pi turns on?
2) If my wiring is correct, how can I troubleshoot this to find what component might be faulty? I have a multimeter, but not sure what/where to check?

Thanks for any help you can provide!!!

-Justin

zener

Re: Cannot get simple LED to work on Raspberry Pi

Post by zener »

The cathode is the short pin and sometimes also the body is flat on that side. Does that LED have a flat side? Measure the voltage across the LED with a meter.