Pocket PiGrrl - Screen not turning on

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
laridk

Pocket PiGrrl - Screen not turning on

Post by laridk »

Hello everyone,
So I am a complete noob on DIY electronics and I decided to try building the Pocket PIGrrl. I had multiple problems with it (the case not being tight at all, everything is loose, the speaker, the screen and buttons, but worst of all, the screws just dont fix anything)

BUT, no problem, blue tack fixes everything. Anyways so, I finished soldering all the steps... And when I turned eveything on, the PI Lights turn on (red and green), the powerboost's blue light turns on fine. but the screen is dead. No response.
I am wondering if I burned some connection when I was soldering the pins to the screen, the ones that connect to the pi. Or if the connection of the screen to the poweboost is the issue... Is there anyway I could trouble shoot this?

I havent done anything to the software yet, I figured the screen has to turn on for me to edit any software thing...

Thank you! I hope you guys can help me =(

adafruit_support_rick

Re: Pocket PiGrrl - Screen not turning on

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Can you post some pictures of both sides of the PiTFT?

laridk

Post by laridk »

Sure, I made a little album at imgur with some photos. Please let me know if you need better images on any specific thing.
http://imgur.com/a/y3hNK

Sorry for the ugly look of the project, it looks super messy... But again, super noobie here.

Thank you so much for replying!

adafruit_support_rick

The soldering on the PiTFT could be better. Can you try touching up those joints?

Solder joints should be smooth and shiny, and the solder should flow completely over the pad and up the pin, like this:

laridk

Post by laridk »