Complete newbie, need help with component selection.

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Brian_Bragg

Complete newbie, need help with component selection.

Post by Brian_Bragg »

Hey,

I'm looking for a bit of help with a project. I have a good list of requirements for what the finished project needs to do, but I'm running into issues figuring out if the components I'm looking at can actually drive the project, or of the whole thing would explode the moment I plugged it in, due to drawing two much current. I'm working within some fairly tight space constraints, so I will very likely end up having to have the final device built on a custom PCB, but right now, I'm just looking to put together a proof of concept level prototype using a 3v Protrinket and some break out boards. The thing is, I'm having issues figuring out if the break out boards can drive some of the components I need to work with.

The specs for the project are below.

9 Degrees of Freedom motion detection (3 axis Accelerometer and a 3 axis gyroscope).
4 PWM Output channels for LED's running at up to 3.2V and 20mA.
4 PWM Output channels for LED's running at 350mA and 3.1V (may see up to three of these LED's wired in parallel on each channel).
1 Channel Audio to drive a 2W 8Ohm speaker.
MP3, Wav, and Ogg Decoding.
MicroSD card for mass storage.
The Ability to write to and edit the MicroSD card in place through a microUSB port.
3.7 Volt Lithium Ion Battery power supply.

Currently, I'm looking at the following boards:
Adafruit Pro Trinket - 3V 12MHz - Brains of the device.
Adafruit 9-DOF Accel/Mag/Gyro+Temp Breakout Board - LSM9DS0 - for motion detection.
Adafruit 12-Channel 16-bit PWM LED Driver - SPI Interface - TLC59711 - for controlling the LED's
VS1053 Codec + MicroSD Breakout - MP3/WAV/MIDI/OGG Play + Record - v4 - for the Audio