DC Motor for frisbee launcher

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
LentzWC

DC Motor for frisbee launcher

Post by LentzWC »

Hey, Y'all! I'm a designer working on an iteration of a DIY frisbee launcher, and I could use a little help.
First, here are some examples:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewesDBSRASw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCn-YSVi3-A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UklfX38tfY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8KVK8svZzbI

I'm miniaturizing this thing to a "desktop" size using a 4.5" disc. It'll have a similar structure to the third sample video. It won't have tracking or a mechanized feed. The discs will just be gravity fed or placed in one at a time and I'm going to control the thing using servos and a wii nunchuck via Arduino. Right now, I'm collecting parts while working on designing the way the structure needs to function. My biggest concern for parts is picking up the correct motor size. A lot of full scale versions of this just use an electric drill... But that's not ideal for a desktop. Can anybody help?

I'd like it to be variable speed to control distance more accurately. And at top speed I think it would be awesome if I could get 20ft.

Disc (projectile) dimensions:
diameter = 4.5"
circumference = 14.13"
weight = 38 grams

I look forward to hearing from anybody with two-cents to give that might help push me in the right direction!

Best,
Will

adafruit_support_bill

Re: DC Motor for frisbee launcher

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

What is the intended power source for this launcher?

LentzWC

Post by LentzWC »

adafruit_support_bill wrote:What is the intended power source for this launcher?
I am willing to use whatever power source is necessary. Battery power and portability is not something I'm looking for. So a standard wall outlet is probably what I'll end up using.

W

adafruit_support_bill