Atmega32u4 (breakout board), quick but important question
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Atmega32u4 (breakout board), quick but important question

by -N- on Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:46 pm

TL;DR - Dear Ada, do you add in AVR109 to your Atmega32U4 BB's yourselves or not?

Hello,

I have been using an Atmega32u4 breakout board from Adafruit for firmware development. I can't quite sum up how pleased I am with its simplicity and flexibility. But now I come to a critical junction - I need to know whether the AVR109 bootloader that comes with the breakout board is standard issue from Atmel or whether Adafruit programs in this bootloader prior to shipping their product. The datasheet for the Atmega32U4 indicates a default USB bootloader is preprogrammed by Atmel and each 32U4 is shipped with this bootloader, but what is not clear is whether this bootloader they refer to in the datasheet is indeed the AVR109 bootloader. It comes from somewhere! I'd like to know where and how your bootloader gets onto your breakout board.

Thank you!

edit: I am assuming the AVR109 is indeed the standard issue bootloader, as the BB has no indication of the soldering rework necessary to reprogram the chip with a new bootloader. Just adding that so I don't look that stupid... :p
-N-
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Atmega32u4 (breakout board), quick but important question

by adafruit on Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:58 pm

we program in our bootloader
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11707
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Atmega32u4 (breakout board), quick but important question

by -N- on Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:11 pm

Do you program in your own bootloader over the USB interface or do you de/solder an ISP header?
-N-
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Atmega32u4 (breakout board), quick but important question

by adafruit on Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:39 am

User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11707
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Atmega32u4 (breakout board), quick but important question

by -N- on Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:55 pm

tl;dr - bootloader loaded via ISP (makes sense)
-N-
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:40 pm