Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:52 pm

I have only had it out of the box for less than 30 minutes and started having a problem. The problem is that when if fist went to upload a sketch it worked doing just the basic blink sketch. That worked fine on my computer. When I tried it on another computer with the same sketch it did not write a sketch it just took a while till it finally said.

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

Power LED is lit and RX and TX blink for a few seconds when I plug it in, and the onboard LED for 13 blinks very dim a few times.

It also says and does this now on the first computer I used even with renaming com ports and restarting computer.

Duemilanove w/328
OS Vista 32
latest FTDI driver
Arduino 0016
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by adafruit on Thu Jun 11, 2009 12:41 am

make sure you have the right board & serial port selected. then check again!
when you move computers it will change
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11747
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:35 pm

COM2 USB Serial Port
COM2 selected in Arduino IDE

Some times uploading the blink sketch RX blinks TX does not blink and L lights up and stays on till I hit reset button on board or unplug the USB.
Still giving the same error.

Could this just be a bootloader issue?
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by adafruit on Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:02 pm

make sure you have the right board selected
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11747
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:24 pm

For some reason now it is working and i did not change anything.
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:26 am

It's still acting odd. Works one day then gives the same error as before.
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by adafruit on Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:34 am

google around to see if its vista misbehaving with the arduino drivers?
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11747
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:24 pm

It is the same with every computer that I have tried it on. Just works when it wants to.
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by adafruit on Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:48 pm

do you have things/shields connected to it while its happening?
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11747
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:18 pm

I have used it with the protoshield and without, but get same results.

Still works when it wants to but now nothing but the same as before for the last month. RX and TX blink for a few seconds when I plug it in, and the onboard LED for 13 blinks very dim a few times. When up loading only RX blinks a few times then I get the error after a min or so.

Ill see if the electronics department at my college has a avr programmer an redo the botloader.
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Rob K on Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:48 am

Sorry for complaining about this to much.

It ended up being that the original oscillator had stopped working, and by soldering in a new one. The Arduino now work perfectly, but a little dusty. Now that I finally have some free time over the holidays I can start working on projects.
“Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns”
-Mitch Ratcliffe
Rob K
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Student

Re: Problem with arduino (does not upload any more)

by Hutch07 on Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:21 pm

I have the same issue. This has an upload brain of it's own. It seems to work when it wants with no methodology. Does anyone know a sure way to upload? How can I tell if the oscillator is bad? It has been doing this from day one.
Hutch07
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:17 pm