compiler for creating .hex files?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

compiler for creating .hex files?

by ben123324 on Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:33 pm

hello people, i am a complete noob at programming micro-controllers(other than Aduino) and recently i decided to give it a try.
i plan on buying the usbtiny, and have already downloaded and installed avrdude. i think i have the process down. i type in...
avrdude -c usbtiny -p <micro-controller id> -U <hex file to be used>
...into the command prompt. anyways, how do i create the program? i am somewhat familiar with the c language from arduino. but how do i create the .hex file to be used? are there any free compilers i can use?
-----i know NOTHING about the creation of the program, so PLEASE explain thoroughly----

thanks,
ben
ben123324

Re: compiler for creating .hex files?

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:45 pm

The hex file is the output from the compiler. It is the machine code that the compiler generates from your C or C++ program.
adafruit_support_bill

by jchristensen on Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:47 pm

Here's one approach. It's fairly thoroughly explained...
http://winavr.sourceforge.net/
http://www.nongnu.org/avr-libc/

Also have a look at:
http://code.google.com/p/arduino-tiny/

jchristensen

by abqlewis on Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:33 pm

My reply is a little off your original subject, but I think it's close enough to mention here.