Need clarifications on vco testing
Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, hamburgers, phono

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Need clarifications on vco testing

by xonox on Sun Jun 12, 2005 1:46 am

I'm a newbie.
It is my first project of this size and i have little electronics knowledge. I built the power supply module and everything went fine, it is calibrated at 5.33v.

Since nothing caught fire during the power supply step, i built the vco today. Now i need clarifications for the test routine without a bench power supply. I do not have headphones with enough resistance but my multimeter has frequency detection. Can i use it instead ?

Where would i need to put the red + black probes of my meter ?
What should touch the metal leads of the 200k resistors ?

I might have access to a 3v supply, so i have these questions as well:

Step 2 of the test routine says : With the tuning knob VR2 centered, apply 2.0VDC using your powersupply to R89 (also pin 5 of IC11). Also center TM4 and TM5 to start.
So this means i just hook up the + lead of the power supply to R89, i don't need to connect the - lead, right ?

Step 3 : probe pins 1 or 3 of the waveform switch
Do i just plug one of the leads of my meter(in freq detection mode) to pin 1 or 3 ?

I want to make sure my vco is working

Thanks
xonox

Re: Need clarifications on vco testing

by jcoplin on Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:46 pm

xonox wrote: I do not have headphones with enough resistance but my multimeter has frequency detection. Can i use it instead ?

yes, that's even better. If you replaced the tune pot with one with center detent you are really good to go. The detent isn't necessary but not having one was driving me nuts.

xonox wrote:
Where would i need to put the red + black probes of my meter ?