Need help troubleshooting x0x #334

Discuss x0x construction and related issues

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
tempomaster

Need help troubleshooting x0x #334

Post by tempomaster »

This is an original adafruit x0x. I purchased it as a kit from adafruit with the USB pre-solder option and it sat in the box untouched until last week. The only thing not original is IC3. I am using one with sokkos 2.0 that I got from willzyx, as the one that came from the kit is running in an eBay x0x.

The build went smooth, I have lots of experience soldering electronics. I have a hakko desolder station and an SMD rework station. I have oscopes, and currently using a miniDSO201. Fluke DMMs. I have eagle, have designed simple boards with it, can read schematics, etc...

There are two problems... I'm not getting any sound, and the digital section isn't working. Initially, I think the digital section *was* working, but now it's not. More on both of these below.

1. No sound: When first completed, the digital section appeared to be working. All LEDs worked, and by spinning the Bank Select encoder, the LEDs would cycle. R/S button started and stopped... or at least turned on and off the corresponding LED. Tempo encoder changed the tempo. I had no sound on headphones or main out. I opened it back up and probed with my scope. I have saw and square at the waveform switch. Using a 2V supply at R90, I have the wave before R62, but after R62, nothing. I thought maybe C17 was backwards or shorted or something, so I pulled it. I then had sound on both sides of R62. The cap tested good and it was in the right direction. I put it back. Same results. I've probed around voltages on Q12, R70, Etc and everything looks good but I have no signal past R62.

2.) Digital section doesn't work.