x0x wrong envelope and filter resonance

Discuss x0x construction and related issues

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mex

x0x wrong envelope and filter resonance

Post by mex »

Hi community :)

I did build up my x0x some yeras ago, like 4 to 5 I guess, and it did never work properly ( well it did work good enough to make music) but it always botheres me, to take a loot inside again.. so now here I am, open x0x with some questionmarks remaining.

This thread is for experienced and nerdish people only :) as I am an electric engineer, I am not looking for obvious error, although they happen a lot to me too, but lets pretend I did solder perfectly and every resistor and cap is in the right spot, sinc I do get acid sound out of my device.

There are 2 main points, firts the filter section, witht he "moog" diode filter, I think there is some amount of wrond resonance in mine, I will show you in a second.
The second thing is It might be that my output section is just too quiet, I have to pull the volumn always to full amount and have it boosted in order to fit into my mixes, the x0x itself is too quiet, It might have something to do with the out mixer, maye i put and preamp inside, or you guys can help me, maybe.

Both screens have the same setting: 5ms per box ( sorry no native speaker :) ) and 100mV the y axis

res max, cutoff max, env max
res max, cutoff max, env max
IMAG1555.jpg (212.29 KiB) Viewed 1442 times
cutoff min res min
cutoff min res min
IMAG1556.jpg (193.21 KiB) Viewed 1442 times
So As you might notice, the Vpeak peak voltages are way too high, in the adafruti manual its maybe a facotr 2 maximum, and I have a factor of maybe 10