0

Never Give Up
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

by adafruit on Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:09 pm

can you measure the dc voltage across C5? (or R13)

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

by WingSpread on Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:31 pm

Ummm ... I don't believe I know how to measure voltage across a Cap.

Do you mean R103? I can't find an R13. In any case the voltage across R103 is 2.56 V DC.
WingSpread
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:14 pm

by adafruit on Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:33 pm

use a multimeter to measure the voltage across C5 or R13

http://www.ladyada.net/learn/metertut/

not R103

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

by WingSpread on Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:53 pm

The resistance across R13 is 2.56 V DC.
WingSpread
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:14 pm

by WingSpread on Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:56 pm

voltage, not resistance.
WingSpread
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:14 pm

by adafruit on Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:18 pm

ah i see your problem
http://www.ladyada.net/make/midisense/makereskit.html

R13 should be a 1K resistor
it is a 10K instead

change the resistor and then see if it works

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

by WingSpread on Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:56 pm

that's better! Now the calibrator goes all the way down to 100.

Still, the big slider does not move. R1, I wonder, the description says 1.5k, but the picture shows brown, black, red (1.0k) ?
WingSpread
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:14 pm

by adafruit on Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:14 pm

1.0k is fine, ill update the description when i fix up the dox this weekend

so when you have the calibration dialog open the little slider moves back and forth? sounds like you just have to follow the manual on calibration

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

by WingSpread on Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:31 pm

Yes, the little slider behaves very nicely. When I cover the photocell, it moves to the left (lower) and when I lift off my hand it moves to the right.

Quite pleasing.


The manual? You mean:

http://www.ladyada.net/make/midisense/s ... ation.html
WingSpread
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:14 pm

by WingSpread on Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:17 pm

HOT CHA!

It works!!!

Tried it with Logic Pro 8 and it knocks me out.

Thanks and bows from the knees to LadyAda and her supernatural patience.
WingSpread
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:14 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.