0

MIDIsense + IR prox sensor + laser?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

MIDIsense + IR prox sensor + laser?

by ENDIF on Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:39 am

I've got a MIDIsense board and a pair of SHARP GP2D12 IR Distance sensors straight from the recommended list at http://www.ladyada.net/make/midisense/d ... nsors.html

I'm hoping to enhance the visual effect by adding some cheap red lasers (or maybe some blue LEDs?) along the line where the IR would travel.. Would this mess up the sensor's readings, or would it make no difference at all?

Thanks,
ENDIF
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:38 am

by ENDIF on Thu Nov 22, 2007 12:20 am

21 reads and no comments?
=[

So much for just asking bigger heads; time to try.

Reckon I'll set it up without them first, get it working, then add the eye candy and report back....
ENDIF
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:38 am

how did you hook the proximity into MIDISense

by rafaelmizrahi on Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:50 pm

EndIf,
how did you hook the proximity into MIDISense
I see at http://squidb0i.livejournal.com/144806.html?view=772774
that you managed to use Proximity Sensors with MIDISense resistance board.
http://www.acroname.com/robotics/parts/R48-IR12.html

I saw that Limor says you have to modify the MIDISense board and bypass the opamp.

how did you do that?
thanks.

rafaelmizrahi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: http://www.Feng-GUI.com

by rafaelmizrahi on Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:14 pm

here is what I see:
This sensor must be used with the Analog/Digital I/O board plugged into one of the Analog ports configured as an Analog Input.

http://www.ladyada.net/make/midisense/d ... nsors.html

Is it possible to connect a control voltage from an IR proximity sensor to the Vout of the resistive board?

http://www.ladyada.net/forums/viewtopic ... =proximity

It is not clear enough which sensors are supported by which of the boards (Resistive and A/D I/O boards)
I have a sharp distance sensor, so, I will try this too and let you know.

rafaelmizrahi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: http://www.Feng-GUI.com

by soapdodger on Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:01 am

So, how do we go about removing the op amp, is it just a matter of connecting the v-out on the distance sensor to the correct pin on the pic chip?

I had a good look at how to do this, it seems the pic chip responds to a voltage input, i wasnt sure which pin is the voltage in or how removing the op amp would affect the circuit.

maybe Ladyada or some other helpful soul could point us in the right direction.
soapdodger
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:45 pm

by soapdodger on Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:26 am

ok, i tried cutting the v-out track from the op amp and connected the v-out from the sharp sensor, didnt work, I got a constant level regardless of my hand position.

seems its not that simple.
soapdodger
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:45 pm

by rafaelmizrahi on Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:14 pm

soapdodger,
I also wish to mod the MIDISense board to use it with IR sensor.
I see in the sharp specs that Vo is -0.3 to VCC+0.3
isn't that too low? (a novice question)

rafaelmizrahi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: http://www.Feng-GUI.com

by rafaelmizrahi on Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:19 am

I think that the problem is that the ATMega8 AREF pin uses 5v as a reference voltage, and not 3.3V as the IR distance sensor VOut is giving.

check out this project which uses the same micro controller MIDISense has with an IR Distance sensor.

http://www.micahcarrick.com/05-11-2006/ ... ensor.html

The problem can be solved in 2 ways:
1. have MIDISense ATMega8 AREF pin uses 3.3V reference voltage using a LM317Z variable voltage regulator.
2. increase the voltage the IR Sensor supplies to the ATMega8 PC0-PC5 pins 3v from to 5v.
I still don't know which approach is better and how will it affect on the whole MIDISense circuit.

rafaelmizrahi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: http://www.Feng-GUI.com

by nym on Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:28 pm

i also purchased a sharp GPD (short range version, 120) and i BADLY NEED to use it with midisense.

The problem can be solved in 2 ways:
1. have MIDISense ATMega8 AREF pin uses 3.3V reference voltage using a LM317Z variable voltage regulator.
2. increase the voltage the IR Sensor supplies to the ATMega8 PC0-PC5 pins 3v from to 5v.
I still don't know which approach is better and how will it affect on the whole MIDISense circuit.


how can i do either of these?
i'm dying to make this work

ladyada, please, please shed words on this.
nym
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:47 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.