FT232H issue regarding python setup

Breakout boards, sensors, other Adafruit kits, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
jamesbuchanan1220
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 2:07 am

FT232H issue regarding python setup

Post by jamesbuchanan1220 »

HI All,
Yes, I ran all the install stuff as issued in 'Adafruit FT232H Breakout' text and everything was working on my Windows 10 system... until:

>>> import os
>>> os.environ["BLINKA_FT232H"]
'1'
>>> import board
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'board'
>>> import digitalio
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'digitalio'

What's this? Not a python person, but it seems like I missed something....what would that be?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

User avatar
mikeysklar
 
Posts: 13936
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: FT232H issue regarding python setup

Post by mikeysklar »

Do you have multiple python versions installed? Often on Linux (and I realize you are one Windows) people mix up running 'python' versus 'python3' and the installation for all the Adafruit CircuitPython libraries is tied to one versions (either python or python3).

How much was working before as you went through the process. Had you been able to get passed this point?

User avatar
jamesbuchanan1220
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 2:07 am

Re: FT232H issue regarding python setup

Post by jamesbuchanan1220 »

Thanks for your reply, I got through all of the installation, no problems. It's just the import of board is my first error.

User avatar
mikeysklar
 
Posts: 13936
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: FT232H issue regarding python setup

Post by mikeysklar »

Make sure you are using 'python3' when invoking your scripts or via command line so it can find the board library.

If the above does not work let's force adafruit-blinka to reinstall, but I really think it is mistakingly calling "python" instead of "python3" which gets a lot of people.

Code: Select all

sudo python3 -m pip install --force-reinstall adafruit-blinka

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Products from Adafruit”