USB/DC/Solar Lithium batteries charger LOAD and boost chips

Breakout boards, sensors, other Adafruit kits, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Nicola1337

USB/DC/Solar Lithium batteries charger LOAD and boost chips

Post by Nicola1337 »

Hi and good day! :)

I've been studying this charger for several months; MCP73871 it's a great chip. But recently a doubt arised. In the product description is told that on the LOAD can be applied a project such as a Mintyboost.
Mintyboost just like Powerboost chargers are based on "boost" chips: they expect a lower INPUT voltage in order to take it up to about +5V.
However, the MCP73871 "load sharing" could take the INPUT energy from the solar panel (+6V) directly to project plugged into the LOAD.

So the booster will receive as INPUT +6V and that's shouldn't be teorically correct for a booster chip.

Is this logic correct?

Many thanks ;)
Nicola

adafruit_support_bill

Re: USB/DC/Solar Lithium batteries charger LOAD and boost ch

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Strictly speaking, that is correct. In practice, it doesn't seem to cause any major problems.

Nevertheless, a better choice than the MintyBoost for that type of application is the Verter which is a combination buck/boost converter. https://www.adafruit.com/product/2190

Nicola1337

Post by Nicola1337 »

Thank you, Bill! Will the booster output +5V in that case? Or +6V? If it's +6V, may it be dangerous to charge a smartphone?

adafruit_support_bill

When the input to the Verter exceeds 5v, the 'buck' circuit takes over and regulates it back down to 5v.

Nicola1337

Post by Nicola1337 »

Yeah on the Verter I know it. I probably didn't explain the question well :)
I wonder what happens when a charger such as the Powerboost receives +6V. Will it output +5V?