Can I hook up a HAT and a Screen to the same I/O port?

Breakout boards, sensors, other Adafruit kits, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
SuperIridium

Can I hook up a HAT and a Screen to the same I/O port?

Post by SuperIridium »

This is probably obvious to others, but I am a beginner and am interested in building a project that uses both a small display and the Capacitive Touch HAT. It looks like both boards connect to the same 40 pin I/O port on the Pi 2. Is it possible to connect these two without any troubleshooting or intricate reprogramming? I'm only asking because it looks like there are other displays available that use the HDMI output from the computer, and these will work fine too, but I'd prefer to use the small PiTFT display, if possible.

Thanks.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Can I hook up a HAT and a Screen to the same I/O port?

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

It would take intricate programming.

The PiTFT uses SPI, which is a shared-bus protocol. In theory you can can connect other devices to the same bus, but they have to take turns using the pins.

The PiTFT's SPI signals are generated by a driver built into the kernel, and it won't play nicely with any code you run from the command line. The OS suspends regular programs so the kernel drivers can do their thing, so any SPI code you run from the command line would have the rug yanked out from under it on a frequent-but-random basis.

It's technically possible to make two displays cooperate, but would involve deep wizardry.

michaelmeissner

Re: Can I hook up a HAT and a Screen to the same I/O port?

Post by michaelmeissner »

The following options are perhaps bigger than you wanted and more expensive, but one way to do it is to use screens that don't use the 40 pin connector.