first time

USB AVR Programmer and SPI interface. Adafruit's USBtinyISP.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
strombezahler

first time

Post by strombezahler »

Hello all!
I've just assembled my UsbtinyISP programmer. Now, how can I program my mega16? I have no developing board and I have no intention of buying it. I tried to wire the 6-pin connector to the protoboard with mega16 (according to some shematic found on this forum) but I get RC=-1 error. I'm not using external XTL and no external power supply (I guess this is no go).
I'm total newb in this programing busines. If anyone could be so kind to explain me what (and how) I need to do.

Much apreciated!

Thank you.

Hazard

Post by Hazard »

You should get a crystal and stick it to mega16. If your mega16 is fresh, as: never touched like it came from factory, you won't need a crystal. But if by any reason the fuses are programmed to use a crystal, it is already there :P
And you can get the power to mega16 from usbtinyisp.

strombezahler

Post by strombezahler »

Yes, it's fresh from the store, my little BANNED. :wink: I just don't know how to hook it up to the programmer.

Hazard

Post by Hazard »

Look at the pin names in the programmer conector. Look at the pins with the same names in the mega16 datasheet.
Connect the pins with the same name :P
(The pin position in that conector is not correct, look at ladyadas schematic instead)
Make sure you set USBtinyISP to provide 5V, if don't power your mega16 externaly.

strombezahler

Post by strombezahler »

Aha, thanks! What about the oscilator, should I ground those pins or leave them open?

ps. Where can I find the schematics?

tnx

Zero

Post by Zero »

First off check out: http://www.evilmadscientist.com/article ... rgetboards