TMP36 sensor gets extremely hot

For makers who have purchased an Adafruit Starter Pack, get help with the tutorials here!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jvcalin

TMP36 sensor gets extremely hot

Post by jvcalin »

Hey all,

I'm extremely new to this so forgive me if this has already been posted. I did a search but didn't see it.

Not really a question but just wanted to post a tip about working with the TMP36 sensor. I thought I followed the wiring diagram but when I connected the power the sensor got extremely hot! Like burn your finger hot! It turns out that the Gnd and 5V pins were switched. So if that happens to you, switch the two pins... The sensor isn't supposed to get hot.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: TMP36 sensor gets extremely hot

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Most microchips have 'input protection diodes' built into the part of the circuit that connects to the pins. They're basically diodes connected backwards to make sure the input never goes more than 0.6v volt below GND or above VCC. Bad Things Can Happen if the inputs go too far past the voltages the chip expects.

In your case, plugging the TMP36 in backwards meant the diodes were pointing the right way, and current started flowng through them. Diodes start to conduct when the forward voltage is about 0.6v, and for every 60mV above that, ten times as much current can flow through. At 1.8v, the current will be somewhere around an amp, and at 2.5v it would be about 10 amps if the chip hadn't already burned up by then.

Heating a chip up like that can damage it, and at very least can mess with a temperature sensor's calibration. If the chip still works for you, that's fantastic. If you find that its accuracy is off, that's probably a side effect of overheating.

jvcalin

Post by jvcalin »

Thanks!