CC3000 no reply on ping

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by gyee »

You mean the WebClient .... yes, this is what I get ... I'm going to try connecting in a relative's access point (non Apple), to hopefully isolate the problem to my router ....
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 10.05.47 PM.png
Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 10.05.47 PM.png (35.83 KiB) Viewed 5474 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

You might also try a coffee shop with a free access point.

User avatar
gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by gyee »

I went to two of my families locations to try their access points, this gets even more weird, I couldn't connect to any of them, I just know one of the model of the AP they have, it's a Airlink101 AR525W. I was sure to select the right WLAN_SEC_WEP and have no typos for ssid and pass, still no connection.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

The fact that you were able to ping your laptop points this problem squarely at the NAT process on the Apple router.

Why it didn't work at all at your relative's houses seems like a different issue entirely. I wonder if they have MAC address blocking enabled? The Apple routers don't have that configuration in the Airport Utility, but most routers allow you to prevent unknown devices from connecting to the network. The routers contain a list of the MAC addresses of known devices, and only those devices are allowed to connect. You would have to manually add the MAC address of your CC3000 to the list.

If you do manage to get on another family router, do your relatives also use the 10.0.0.x network? I'm still suspicious that has something to do with the problem.

User avatar
gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by gyee »

The two locations are owned by the same person, different hardware AP, setup is simple, no MAC address blocking, no 10.0.0.x IP addresses, just WEP security on one and WPA on the other one. I connected my laptop to the two locations with no problem.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

gyee wrote:different hardware AP, setup is simple, no MAC address blocking, no 10.0.0.x IP addresses, just WEP security on one and WPA on the other one. I connected my laptop to the two locations with no problem.
No! Stop telling me things like this! :shock:
I can't make any sense of it - I'm afraid my head will explode :lol:

Can you take some close-up pictures of the board? We had one report of a board on which one of the surface-mount capacitors was lifted. Maybe yours has some sort of hardware issue?

User avatar
gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by gyee »

I already inspected the board, I don't see anything wrong. Here's a picture, I don't have any close-up equipment.
Attachments
D7K_5596.jpg
D7K_5596.jpg (223.07 KiB) Viewed 5404 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

It looks fine. But why don't we try replacing it, anyway.

Please email support@adafruit.com with a link to this thread and ask for a replacement.
Also, please ask them to arrange to return your board to us, so we can have a look at it.

edwarde
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 10:56 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by edwarde »

Did you every get a replacement board? If yes, did it resolve your issues?

Thanks,
Ed

User avatar
gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by gyee »

I haven't received the new one yet, they just got mine on Friday (8/23), so I don't have anything to report, but as soon as I get it I'll do some more testing.

akupila
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:02 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by akupila »

I have a similar issue. Connection to wifi works fine but i cannot reach anything outside of my network. I tried the buildtest, ping and WebClient sketches, all with the same result.

Here's the output from buildtest:

Code: Select all

Hello, CC3000!

RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 1260 bytes
Initialising the CC3000 ...
Firmware V. : 1.19
MAC Address : 0x08 0x00 0x28 0x57 0x35 0x35
Started AP/SSID scan


Networks found: 16
================================================
SSID Name    : jacob
RSSI         : 46
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : scarabeedewe
RSSI         : 53
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : Thomson93F819
RSSI         : 49
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : BANNED
RSSI         : 83
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : UPC1384645
RSSI         : 31
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : SpeedTouch67603D
RSSI         : 36
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : xs4allFRITZ
RSSI         : 52
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : de kunststudentjes
RSSI         : 71
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : UPC1381163
RSSI         : 33
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : Zy_private_3X9V7R
RSSI         : 39
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : UPC245847777YTKWGRP             
RSSI         : 35
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : UPC499862
RSSI         : 32
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : M3H draadloos
RSSI         : 33
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7340
RSSI         : 32
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : Zy_private_HP9C9R
RSSI         : 40
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name    : ARV75194512BB
RSSI         : 48
Security Mode: 3

================================================
Deleting old connection profiles
Attempting to connect to penthouse
Started AP/SSID scan



Connecting to BANNED...Waiting to connect...Connected!
Request DHCP
IP Addr: 10.0.1.3
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.0.1.1
DHCPsrv: 10.0.1.1
DNSserv: 10.0.1.1
www.adafruit.com -> 207.58.139.247

Pinging 207.58.139.247...0 replies

Pinging machine on local network
Pinging 10.0.1.2...5 replies
Ping successful!

Pinging router
Pinging 10.0.1.1...5 replies
Ping successful!

Closing the connection
The local machine here is my laptop and it works fine (didn't work on the first attempt though, for some reason). Any connections to the internet don't work.

My router is an Apple Airport Extreme with software version 7.6.4 (latest). The breakout board looks ok, no missing caps or other weird stuff (identical to the photo on the product page).

Any ideas on what to try next?

akupila
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:02 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by akupila »

FYI: I tried creating a wifi hotspot with my iPhone and when i connect through it i get 3 responses to ping. This lead me to believe there's something weird with the router (although everything else has always worked fine)

So i tried to change the router's network ip range from 10.0.x.x to 192.168.x.x and it worked! I tried with 172.16.x.x and it worked fine too.

Image

Code: Select all

IP Addr: 172.16.1.5
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 172.16.1.1
DHCPsrv: 172.16.1.1
DNSserv: 172.16.1.1
www.adafruit.com -> 207.58.139.247

Pinging 207.58.139.247...5 replies
Ping successful!
No idea why this is happening, hopefully it's something that can be fixed in firmware because surely nobody can ask a user to change their network settings only for the CC3000... Well, at least hopefully this helps somebody else getting started with CC3000 :)

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

That's what I suspected was going on with gyee, but then he started having problems connecting to everything.

Can you please post the model number and firmware rev for your Airport? We are collecting information for TI. Thanks!

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by adafruit »

Thanks, this is incredibly useful - we will prod TI
In the mean time, we did manage to get a list of 'tested APs" out of 'em
http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/IOP_ ... n_year.pdf
its their list, not ours, but it might be handy

User avatar
djix123
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

Post by djix123 »

I have a similar problem with the Airport Extreme that I use. The model is: MD031LL/A with firmware 7.6.4

My Airport Extreme allocates IP addresses from the 10.0.0.X range and the CC3000 receives no reply when attempting to ping, or indeed with a tcp connection.

If I set up the Airport Extreme to use the "Guest" network functionality, the Extreme allocates IP addresses from the 172.16.42.X range. Connecting the CC3000 to this network, and all functionality appears to work. e.g. ping responses, connection to Adafruit website.

Regards

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Arduino products from Adafruit”