FX Sound Board Reset Pin

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
Dfitterman
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:57 am

FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by Dfitterman »

I am using an FX sound board in UART mode. The Adafruit sound board library requires that the reset RST line be attached to one of the Arduino pins. I have noticed that when I attach a USB connector between my computer and the FX board to upload OGG files, the computer does not recognize the sound board if the RST line is attached to the Arduino board. I do not have power applied to the Arduino, however, there are lines going from my breadboard on which the FX is mounted to the V+ and GND lines of the Arduino.

When the RST line is disconnected from the Arduino the computer can see the sound board.

My concern is that I may need to change the audio files on the sound board after the installation is no longer in a test phase and would not want to have to unsolder the RST line every time I do this. Is there an alternative to putting a switch on the RST line to accomplish this? Would I also need a disconnect the V+ and GND lines?

In playing with the power and reset lines I have again clobbered the file structure on the FX board because the computer did not properly eject the FX memory. Not having easy access to a modern Windows machine, this is a major drag. Are there no alternatives for installing the FX images files with a Mac OS?

User avatar
adafruit2
 
Posts: 22148
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by adafruit2 »

huh we have never connected the RST line to an arduino, can you try adding a stronger pullup on the RST pin to 3.3V? maybe go with 2.2K?

User avatar
Dfitterman
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:57 am

Re: FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by Dfitterman »

I wanted to use the RST pin to determine programmatically if a soundboard was connected to the Arduino. I got the idea from the Adafruit FX soundboard example sketch menucommands, on which the following code snippet is based.
Is there another way to do this that doesn't use the RST line?

Code: Select all

// Connect to the RST pin on the Sound Board
#define SFX_RST 4

// we'll be using software serial
SoftwareSerial ss = SoftwareSerial(SFX_TX, SFX_RX);

Adafruit_Soundboard sfx = Adafruit_Soundboard(&ss, NULL, SFX_RST);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("Adafruit Sound Board!");
  
  // softwareserial at 9600 baud
  ss.begin(9600);
  // can also do Serial1.begin(9600)

  if (sfx.reset()) {
    FXBoardPresent = true;
  } else {
  FXBoardPresent = false;
}

User avatar
CGrover
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:52 am

Re: FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by CGrover »

In a previous project, because of a hardware conflict, I left the reset pin disconnected and ran some tests. The reset pin needs to be defined in the sketch but had no impact on functionality nor reliability when electrically disconnected. Here's the posting of the test and test script used: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=118746#p593079
Didn't try to check status, though.

User avatar
mpacion
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:03 am

Re: FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by mpacion »

Hi,

Can I use the USB port of an amplifier to power the fx Soundboard ?

Thanks in advance,

User avatar
adafruit2
 
Posts: 22148
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by adafruit2 »

as long as there's no data wires yes!

User avatar
mpacion
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:03 am

Re: FX Sound Board Reset Pin

Post by mpacion »

Thank you very much for the quick reply

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Arduino products from Adafruit”