replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
RB21
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 6:26 am

replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

Post by RB21 »

Hi All
I'm sing an Arduino Uno Rev 3. Original ATmega328p had blown pin 2, (operator error, too much current to an LED…Newbie!). So I bought a replacement chip with uploaded bootloader (ADA123), and exchanged chip. Tried a number of solutions for “avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding” error. Running Windows 10, and IDE 1.8.15. Old chip and second UNO continue to work fine. Concluded bootloader corrupt, so sent chip back to Pi Hut and got another one (thank you! Pi Hut). Tried it and got same error message!!
Stuck for an answer for this.

Details:-

Sketch uses 966 bytes (3%) of program storage space. Maximum is 30720 bytes.
Global variables use 11 bytes (0%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2037 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2048 bytes.
An error occurred while uploading the sketch
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 3 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 4 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 5 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 6 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 7 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 8 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 9 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 10 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x71

sketch

int led1 = 4, led2 = 3, state=HIGH;
void setup() {
pinMode(led1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
digitalWrite(led1, state);
digitalWrite(led2, !state);
delay(1000);
state=!state;
}

No wires plugged into any pin on the board.
Arduino Uno from Pi Hut March 2021
BN: Arduino Uno
VID: 2341
PID: 0043
SN: 75833353934351606111

ADA123 replacement chip
From Pi Hut Aug 2021

boards manager says ' arduino AVR boards' is installed (ver 1.8.3).
boards text doc in Arduino/hardware/arduino/avr has duemilanove baud rate as 57600.
Correct COM selected.
reset button does not flash the LED.

I have tried board selections Arduino uno, and duemilanove (with ATmega328P selected), and AVRISP mkll, AVR ISP and ATmel STK500 development board as programmer.

https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-uno- ... 0/162973/8
suggested
“system
May '13
go to \hardware\arduino\boards.txt, find this line "uno.name=Arduino Uno uno.upload.protocol=arduino", replace the protocol=arduino to =stk500. I don't know if it works on Uno, but it did save me from similar issue with Duemilanove.
By the way, did you install the Uno driver?”
Tried to do this but got message ‘you do not have permission to open this file’ on trying to save edited file, using notepad.

https://support.arduino.cc/hc/en-us/art ... -uploading
and
https://support.arduino.cc/hc/en-us/art ... 0003198300
[this page is now missing but similar one is at
https://forum.arduino.cc/t/avrdude-stk5 ... 585181/236 ]

step 10 done the 'loopback test', which passes.

However when I do Step 7 ' Press the reset button and see if the LED blinks. If the LED doesn't blink there is a high chance that the bootloader of your board is corrupted.' The LED does NOT blink.

Any suggestions?

Also I would suggest replacement chips should be marketed with better instructions and trouble shooting checklist as there seem to be plenty of threads for this error [ ie lots of wasted time and frustration!!!].
Thank you.

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15662
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

Post by dastels »

What does PiHut have to say?

Dave

User avatar
RB21
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 6:26 am

Re: replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

Post by RB21 »

Hi Dave
When I had problems with the first chip they suggested checking COM port. When the chip failed the reset test they exchanged it, assuming the bootloader was corrupt. Second (replacement) chip gave similar error. They asked me to check this web page :-
https://learn.adafruit.com/arduino-tips ... es/upgrade
and their product page.
I changed to the settings in the post above, trying different combinations ( in particular setting the board to duemilanove (with ATmega328P selected), trying AVRISP mkll, AVR ISP and ATmel STK500 as programmer). I tried a second USB cable. I check the other things from the Forum, as posted above. At this point Pi Hut had no suggestions other than to post on the forum here, to ask for help. I haven't deleted and reloaded the arduino IDE ,as it seems to work fine with my other Uno Rev3 and the old chip, and I'm a bit hesitant about burning the bootloader, as the web page says it's definitely an advanced task!!. That's why I plumped for the chip with bootloader, anticipating 'old chip out', 'new chip in' and back to normal...
Richard

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15662
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

Post by dastels »

You should definitely be using the UNO board selection.

I would consider updating the bootloader next. Did they give you any information on the bootloader that's on the chip?

Dave

User avatar
RB21
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 6:26 am

Re: replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

Post by RB21 »

Hi Dave
The Pi Hut says 'unfortunately all the information that we hold on the chip is included in the product description. It looks like this chip is programmed with 'ADAboot', a version of the bootloader that is "quick-start" NG/diecimila/duemilanove/UNO-compatible.'

They did not check the chip I returned, unfortunately.
Richard

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15662
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: replacement chip ATmega 328 i n Uno rev3

Post by dastels »

My next step would be to update the bootloader. Beyond that I'm starting to wonder if there's a problem with the board. Maybe the USB chip? Trying the '328 in a known working UNO would quickly tell us if that's the case.

Dave

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Arduino products from Adafruit”