Contd - RGB LEDs and Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Dr

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pobo123

Contd - RGB LEDs and Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Dr

Post by pobo123 »

Hi. I am trying to connect 15 RGY (red, yellow and green) LEDS with common anodes and have been looking at the viewtopic.php?f=22&p=170571 discussion (now closed) which is the most useful information I've managed to find so far. Basically, I would like to use an Arduino Mega and some PCA9865 boards to control 15 model BANNED signal lights. In the discussion I attached the link to, adafruit_support_bill suggests "connect the common anode lead to 5v, and connect each of the R, G & B leads to one PWM channel...". I am a newbie here, please can someone explain in more detail how to connect the anode lead to 5v. I am confused what this means and how to do it.

Franklin97355

Re: Contd - RGB LEDs and Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Serv

Post by Franklin97355 »

Can you post a link to the LEDs you are using? are you using a single LED per signal or three LEDs?

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If you are using an Arduino Mega, follow the connection instructions here: https://learn.adafruit.com/16-channel-p ... king-it-up

The PWM/Servo driver board has a row of 3-pin headers. The top row is the PWM signal. The bottom row is GND. And the center row is labeled V+. If you connect a jumper from the VCC pin to the V+ pin on the edge of the board, that will provide 5v power to the center row of pins.

pobo123

Post by pobo123 »

franklin97355 wrote:Can you post a link to the LEDs you are using? are you using a single LED per signal or three LEDs?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/154080044333

pobo123

Post by pobo123 »