Adafruit MAX31855 With MATLab
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Adafruit MAX31855 With MATLab

by Jsph.gomez89 on Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:07 pm

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Arduino and MATLab, so I apologize in advance if the answer seem trivial.
I am currently doing a project that is to build a PID controller which is to use a Thermocouple as a feedback to the controler (Arduino) to control temperature of the system.

I picked up the MAX31855 breakout board and the Type-K Thermocouple and was successful in having it work with my Arduino with the MAX31855 giving readings within 1 degree C on the serial monitor of the Arduino. My big issue right now is now having to use MATLAB to plot this data in a live data plot. But under further research, I need to create an library within MATLab to us the scrips given within the tutorial of the thermocouple. Because it is a Digital output i am not sure where to even start with this kind of work. Like I said I am fairly new to the world of Arduino, MATLab,and coding.

Thank you in advance!!

Re: Adafruit MAX31855 With MATLab

by Bedmonds91 on Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:07 pm

I would really like to know if this problem has been solved. Matlab's support package for Arduino has a specific way to communicate with SPI devices where you have to write in order to read. The MAX31855 thermocouple amplifier is read-only so it matlab won't let me read values.

by Bedmonds91 on Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:59 pm

So I know this is a reply to a fairly old post, but after searching the entire web I didn't find an answer to this problem, which was how to read the Max31855 from a matlab script. I provided the Matlab code I used in order to plot the temperature in real time.

%Thermocouple Data
dev = spidev(a,'D10'); %Chip select pin D10, MISO is ICSP-1, SCK is ICSP-3, MOSI(not used)
for i=1:1000
dataIn = [1 1]; %write 2 pieces of info in order to receive 2 pieces of info