Due to high demand expect some shipping delays at this time, orders may not ship for 1-2 business days.
0

CC3000 no reply on ping
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

CC3000 no reply on ping

by gyee on Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:07 am

Hi Tech Support,

I just got my CC3000 board today and tried the sketches, I'm able to connect to my router (Apple Time Capsule) , but I get 0 replies on ping command, also on the WebClient sketch it does not retrieve the info on the adafruit web page. Board is connected to a Boarduino. I attached a serial monitor screen shot. Thanks in advance.

gyee
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 10.05.47 PM.png
Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 10.05.47 PM.png (35.83 KiB) Viewed 3824 times
Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 9.54.33 PM.png
Serial Monitor Screen Shot
Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 9.54.33 PM.png (94.14 KiB) Viewed 3824 times

gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:04 am

Why are you getting an address of 10.0.0.10 from DHCP? That is not in the range of reserved LAN addresses. I'll guess that the NAT process on the router is not able to handle that source address properly.

Your DHCP server should be returning addresses in the range 192.168.xxx.xxx.

Fix that, and then see if the CC3000 works as expected.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by gyee on Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:37 am

Apple routers assign addresses in that range 10.0.0.xxx (see attachment), other manufacturers in the 192.168.xxx.xxx. In my network everything has a 10.0.0.x address.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 7.31.02 AM.png
Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 7.31.02 AM.png (87.31 KiB) Viewed 3783 times

gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:19 pm

Ah - that is actually configurable in the Network Options... button. You can select 10.0, 172.16, and 192.168. I was only aware of 172.16 and 192.168 as being valid private network address ranges - I didn't know about 10.0 - sorry :oops:

In Network Options..., do you have Enable NAT Port Mapping Protocol selected?

Is your Time Capsule connected to the internet, or does it go through another router? Is it possible that there is some sort of firewall device blocking internet access through the Time Capsule?

The CC3000 is clearly communicating with the Time Capsule. Something in the Time Capsule or beyond it is blocking access to the internet.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by gyee on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:07 pm

I do not have port mapping selected since I have no need to access from outside the LAN. The Time Capsule is connected to a DSL modem. I tried pinging from my computer terminal to your website with successful replies, could be wrong but but don't think there's a firewall. Yes it is connecting fine to the router, just not getting replies form ping, I tried other websites with no success (pinging).

gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:19 pm

Hmmm...I'm running out of ideas. So, your computer is also attached wirelessly through the same Time Capsule, and that can ping www.Adafruit.com successfully, right?

That should rule out any sort of problem with your network gizmos.

What IP address does your computer have?

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by gyee on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:27 pm

Correct, I'm able to ping to your website (and Google's) in terminal from my two computers in the network (wired and wifi). They have 10.0.0.5 and 10.0.0.7, assigned by DHCP. I also have another of your Boarduino's connected to Xively successfully in the same network (wired)

gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:53 pm

See if you can ping one of your local computers. A real quick & dirty way to do this is to over-write the IP for www.adafruit.com:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
  if (! cc3000.getHostByName("www.adafruit.com", &ip)) {
    Serial.println(F("Could not resolve!"));
  } else {
    cc3000.printIPdotsRev(ip);
  }

 // ip = (192L << 24) | (168L<<16) | (1<<8) | 23;   //this is the ip of a computer on my LAN - 192.168.1.23
                                                  // (Note the 'L' on the two high octets!)
  ip = (10L << 24) | (0L<<16) | (0<<8) | 7;   //this is the ip of a computer on your LAN - 10.0.0.7


  /* Do a quick ping test on adafruit.com */ 
  Serial.print(F("\n\rPinging ")); cc3000.printIPdotsRev(ip); Serial.print("..."); 

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit on Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:32 pm

Hi gyee - Can you also let us know what the exact model and firmware version is of the Apple router? We're getting some reports that Apple routers may not like passing data for the CC3K for module-firmware reasons (e.g. nothing we can fix with code) = we'd like to compile a list of routers that are being iffy and send to TI so they can fix it! :)

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:23 pm

I just checked my Airport Extreme and Airport Express. Both were able to ping www.Adafruit.com successfully.

The Extreme is a model A1143. I would need to do some excavation to get to the Express (but it's an old-timer, just like the Extreme).

Both are running the latest 7.6.4 firmware.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit on Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:30 pm

hi rick, can you verify that you can also do a TCP connection (its the webclient example)? in case its passing ICMP but not TCP?

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:41 pm

Works goodly on both Express and Extreme:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
Hello, CC3000!

Free RAM: 1208 bytes

Initializing...
Started AP/SSID scan




Connecting to Extreme...Waiting to connect...Connected!
Request DHCP

IP Addr: 192.168.1.27
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCPsrv: 192.168.1.1
DNSserv: 192.168.1.1
www.adafruit.com -> 207.58.139.247

Connect to 207.58.139.247:80
-------------------------------------
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Fri, 16 Aug 2013 20:38:50 GMT
Server: Apache
Access-Control-Allow-Origin: http://learn.adafruit.com
Access-Control-Allow-Headers: Origin, X-Requested-With, Content-Type, Accept, Accept-Encoding, Authorization, Referer, User-Agent
Access-Control-Allow-Methods: GET, POST, OPTIONS
Access-Control-Allow-Credentials: true
Access-Control-Max-Age: 1728000
Last-Modified: Thu, 27 Jun 2013 14:13:27 GMT
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Content-Length: 74
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html

This is a test of the CC3000 module!
If you can read this, its working :)
-------------------------------------


Disconnecting

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit on Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:02 pm

thanks rick!!
OK I wonder if its a version thing on the router and/or model problem? when Gyee reports back hopefully we will see whats up

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by gyee on Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:51 pm

Hi guys,

I was able to ping to my laptop with the revised code you gave me. My model Time Capsule is A1302 2nd generation (early 2009) MB764LL/A, my current firmware is 7.6.4 (latest one), internal wifi (Time Capsule) Atheros AR9229/AR9223.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 3.44.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 3.44.11 PM.png (47.93 KiB) Viewed 3651 times

gyee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:52 am

Re: CC3000 no reply on ping

by adafruit_support_rick on Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:22 pm

All very strange. Seems like there must be some problem with the NAT on the Time Capsule.

Have you tried the WebClient example sketch? I'm curious to see what happens with that.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.