0

Is there any whey to make tv b gone to : tv b on
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Is there any whey to make tv b gone to : tv b on

by pksjaveed on Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:08 pm

hey was wondering if you could resolder or reprogram it so you could be able to turn on tvs instead of turning off.... jus thought of it while sitting in class but i dont no where to get started
pksjaveed
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:01 pm

by rabbidator on Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:38 pm

In theory, you need only change turn OFF codes and put ON codes in chip, don't know how in practice.
rabbidator
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:06 am
Location: Lithuania

by nutt318 on Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:26 pm

I have the v1.1 and ive been testing it for about a week now and the 15-20 tvs that I have came across turned off. Yet the same 15-20 tvs will also turn back on when hitting the button again.

Some older tv's just have a single command on either turning on or off. So more than likely you will be able to turn them on as well.

Just my experience, anyone else experience the same?
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

by hamburgers on Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:27 pm

nutt318 wrote:I have the v1.1 and ive been testing it for about a week now and the 15-20 tvs that I have came across turned off. Yet the same 15-20 tvs will also turn back on when hitting the button again.

Some older tv's just have a single command on either turning on or off. So more than likely you will be able to turn them on as well.

Just my experience, anyone else experience the same?


mine turns tv's on and off?
Image

hamburgers
 
Posts: 1056
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: DC metro

by salsaman on Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:54 pm

yeah mine turns my tv on as well.

thought of making a portable commercial skipper-- a button that turns a tv off and back on after 2 minutes and 30 seconds (skip 5 commercials) and another to skip 30 seconds (for single commercials). sort of like hitting the TiVo skip ahead five times or one time, except you can't skip ahead, so it just turns it off, waits, and turns it back on.

Hmmm....

salsaman
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:53 am
Location: sf ca

by Entropy on Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:47 am

Typically only higher end equipment has discrete on/off codes - so it's more common than not that the same "off" code used by TVBG is also the "on" code if the TV is off.
Entropy
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:43 am
Location: Owego, NY USA

by Hungry_Myst on Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:25 pm

Look at it this way, when you press the power button on a tv remote, the same button will turn the TV off and on. The remote has no way of knowing weather the tv is on or not when you press the button, so it allways sends the same command and that commaned toggles the TV's power. Same idea for the TV-B-Gone, the TV-B-Gone will just as easally turn a TV off as it will turn a TV on (unless it's something really high-end like Entropy mentioned).
“The most absurd and reckless aspirations have sometimes led to extraordinary success.”
-- Marquis de Vauvenargues
Hungry_Myst
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Canada

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.