0

Whoops - I think I messed up
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

by oPossum on Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:04 am

It is the transistors (Q1 - Q9) that are backwards - not the resistors - they can go either way.

The firmware does not affect range at all - just the codes.

Compare the drawing to your board...
Image
oPossum
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:42 am
Location: Michigan, USA

by nutt318 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:04 am

banned, im getting my things confussed. Which ones are the transistors?

The 2 by the batteries? Arnt they Diodes?
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

by oPossum on Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:07 am

The things with three legs...

Image
oPossum
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:42 am
Location: Michigan, USA

by nutt318 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:07 am

oh banned, how did I miss that.

I will redo that.

So switching around the transistors will improve what?

Thanks guys, i will be working on this tomorrow.
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

by magician13134 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:35 am

Well right now the transistors aren't actually going to be doing anything. Switching them around will make them do what they're supposed to. That will significantly improve range
magician13134
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Ann Arbor

by nutt318 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 6:14 pm

Well I just switched them all around, what a pain in the ass. luckily I had new extras. However one led is not working which I'm guessing its just a bad led.

Also I will test this with the EHP code by caitsith2.
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

by caitsith2 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:00 pm

Check the LED with an ohm meter or something similar. (If it has a diode tester, all the better.) If the "not working" LED works through the ohm meter/diode tester, then the transistor that drives that LED is shot, most likely from overheating.
caitsith2
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:21 pm

by magician13134 on Thu Feb 14, 2008 8:10 pm

But the boards are working? I'm ordering tonight.
magician13134
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Ann Arbor

by nutt318 on Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:45 am

Everything with mine is working great. I have had the same code that came with v1.1 and it works well. I havent had time to test the range yet.

Also I do have a chip that has the EHP code that caitsith2 made and it seems to do some funny things. Im not sure if its supposed to but when the leds come on you can hear a little sweaking sound or something, I wasnt sure if it was supposed to do this but the leds were blinking. Also it seems to continue the process for a long time, for ever 30 seconds or so. I dint want to mess anything up so I unplugged it.

caitsith2, is this ok what its doin?
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

by nutt318 on Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:56 am

Here is the finished product next to a v1.1

Image

Image

Here is a video of it

http://www.jnutt.com/jake/tvbgone/ehp.mp4
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

by nutt318 on Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:32 am

Well so far the new version work great with the firmware used in the tv-b-gone v.1.1, now my only problem is finding a place that there is a tv more than 150ft away.

caitsit2, have you had any time to test out your EHP version of the code on the EHP board? I would like to use it if possible but it doesnt seem to work properly.
nutt318
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.