Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

PICAXE Programming
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

PICAXE Programming

by Ian25 on Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:53 pm

Hello, This might be a dumb question, but I am new to microcontrollers (not to mention electronics in general) but I was wondering if I could program a PICAXE micro controller with an arduino. (mine is a Arduino Duemilanove)

Maybe with the ICSP (6 pin) header?

Thanks in advance.

P.S. If it is possible, could you link me to a tutorial. (if their is one, that you know of)

Thanks.
Ian25

Re: PICAXE Programming

by adafruit on Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:33 am

you should read about how avr programming works
http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/

adafruit

by franklin97355 on Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:38 am

The picaxe is a whole different breed. some info here http://www.rev-ed.co.uk/PICAXE/software.htm

franklin97355

by minerva on Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:37 am

Arduino is really everything that PICAXE tried to be... except better in every way.

I mean, using RS232 as the native computer interface for programming? In this day and age?
minerva

by westfw on Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:31 pm

I mean, using RS232 as the native computer interface for programming? In this day and age?

Just like the original arduino! And cutting component costs in half by not requiring a $4 USB chip to program a $4 microcontroller.

I'm not sure what you mean by "can I program a PICAXE with an arduino. The PICAXE is designed to be programmed directly from an rs232 serial port (the DB9 that used to be on the back of most PCs) with just a little bit of hardware for level conversion assistance.