Basic understanding and using a tilt sensor
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Basic understanding and using a tilt sensor

by daunce on Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:18 pm

Hi. I'm new to electronics and trying to understand the example at https://learn.adafruit.com/tilt-sensor/ ... ilt-sensor.

I'm using a Particle board. [I used the product name but couldn't post the message. Link to docs below has been edited. "Your message contains banned spam words. Please rephrase your post without the following words...."], so there's a few minor changes in board layout and code.

The picture with the AA batteries makes sense as it's a complete circuit/loop (what's the proper terminology?). I created this on the breadboard and I can make the LED turn on/off depending on the tilt.

I'm a bit confused with the picture including the Arduino board. It's a complete circuit but with an extra wire to pin2.

So the questions I have:
1) When you do digitalRead(inPin), is that just checking if there's voltage/power (again, what's the proper terminology) running through the loop?
2) Does it matter where in the circuit you connect the wire from pin2?
3) It references outPin=13, and turns it HIGH/LOW but there's nothing connected to that pin in the picture. What is that supposed to do?

I copied the breadboard example, and sent the output to putty, but the output wasn't consistent. When I tilted the board, it would usually change state, but sometimes the result was 0 when tilted, other times it was 1 when tilted. Sometimes it would change state without any movement, and appeared to result in 0 for 5 digitalRead's (1 per second), then 1 for 5 reads in a continuous pattern. When the wire on pin2 was removed, it would still have changes to its state. I couldn't make any sense of it, and called it a night.