PIR sensor alarm
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

PIR sensor alarm

by lloydc on Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:15 am

[code][/code]I am now in day 4 of my Arduino/PIR alarm project. I am new to Arduino, so I am assuming that I have made an error somewhere along the way. I am using a Metro Board and PIR sensor (both of which I purchased from Adafruit). The code I'm using is based on the PIR code from your webpage PIR Sensor test; modified to run the alarm project. So I may have made an error. I did verify the code and was successful, so I'm wondering if the code is actually correct. I also successfully uploaded the code to the board.
When I apply power to the board (a 9 VDC wall supply also purchased from Adafruit) The buzzer and LED immediately turn "ON" and stay on. The Pir sensor is wired correctly ( I think) so it should not do so. I have gone over the schematic and the code, checking and rechecking, trying to make sure all is correct.
I have also used two other Genuine Arduino boards to test the project. They all get the same results. All three boards show up correctly under the Device manager.
I am attaching a copy of the code and the schematic I am using. The PIR has the jumper in the "H" configuration and both pots are set to 50%. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!! .Thanks

Note: What format does the code(document) need to be in to be accepted?
Here is my code:
int ledPin =13 ; //chooses the pin for the LED
int input = 8; // chooses the input pin for the PIR sensor trigger
int buzzerPin = 12 ; // chooses the output pin for the buzzer,(positive wire from buzzer
int pirState = Low; //start with, assuming no motion detected
int Val = 0; // variable for reading the pin state

void setup () {
pinMode (ledPin, OUTPUT); //declares LED as output
pinMode (inputPin, INPUT); //declares sensor as input. (trigger wire)