Weird trinket m0 issue
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Weird trinket m0 issue

by gowenrw on Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:36 am

I have two trinkets purchased about a month apart and one runs my circuit python test code fine spinning the on board dot weather plugged into my pc or a usb power bank. The newer one will run the code fine when plugged into the pc but when plugged into a usb power bank it just lights red and blue solid on the dot.
Same code and same power bank and pc being used for both. So, I am wondering if this is an indication of a problem with the new board or just maybe a circuit python boot loader version difference between them (im new to the trinket and have not figured out how to check what version is on each yet).
Has anyone else seen this behavior?
Thanks.

gowenrw

Re: Weird trinket m0 issue

by adafruit_support_mike on Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:11 am

Check the amount of current each board uses when connected to a 5V power supply or a LiPo.

Some USB power bricks shut down if the load doesn't draw enough current. It's an efficiency measure, to make the internal battery last longer. One Trinket M0 might use a little more current than the other, and the difference happens to be enough to make the USB power brick shut off.

adafruit_support_mike

by gowenrw on Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:04 am

The USB power brick is not powering off since it does continue to power the trinket and light red and blue on the dot. That particular trinket just isn't cycling through the dot colors when on the brick but does when on pc power. Its like the main loop is stuck. The dot color cycle code is from the preloaded example main.py. And this works fine on another trinket on the power brick and works fine on this trinket when using pc power.