total newbeginner having trouble with gemma MO

For Adafruit customers who seek help with microcontrollers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
7g7g7g

total newbeginner having trouble with gemma MO

Post by 7g7g7g »

Hello,
this is my very first time doing this kind of thing. I landed on Gemma wanting to try wearable electronics. I come from crafting, this is my first step into tech. or rather, the combination thereof.

So, I have Gemma MO here and I have downloaded the arduino development environment and the libraries from adafruit.
I wanted to use the blink sketch provided by adafruit here: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-gem ... rduino-ide

And nothing worked at all. And after a long time talking to a friend that I am so lucky to have he found the mistake:
why it is pin13 when gemma doesn`t have a pin13?

Then he helped me digging and we found this page:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-gem ... ches-to-m0

Which is where I am told to declare pins like this: pinMode(pin, INPUT_PULLUP)

So now my LED blinks. Yay.

But this is my very first project. And I thought I had understood that blinking a LED is an output, as opposed to reading a sensor which is input.
So why do you declare an output pin by calling it input?
I am very confused.

And how do I adress the Gemma pins as I go? I am a newbeginner and I watch youtube tutorials and read on the internet to learn this. Everything is for arduino and not for gemma that has different pins (holes). And even adafruits own gemma description includes a pin 13 when there is none. I don`t know how to adapt what I learn about arduino to the holes of Gemma.

It would be awesome to get information exactly for gemma. Because unless you already are advanced it is not intuitive.
Thank you.

adafruit_support_carter

Re: total newbeginner having trouble with gemma MO

Post by adafruit_support_carter »