Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Programmer for an Atmel 8051
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Programmer for an Atmel 8051

by WickedShell on Sun May 09, 2010 3:00 pm

I already have an Atmel AT89C51RB2, which is an Intel 8051 core with a couple of speed ups, and extra on-board memory, that I'm looking to program, but lack a programmer, for it and am shaky on how to remedy this. The chip can be programmed via an ISP bootloader solution which seems to be through UART, or via a parallel EPROM programmer.

My computer lacks a serial port, and I have had some bad experiences with USB to serial converters, so I'm looking for other solutions to program this. Commercial solutions all seem to be very expensive, and it seems to me that programming via the ISP boot loader would be more convenient. To this end I need to find a way to interface via UART. The solutions I have so far I believe to be overkill, but here they are.

1. Get an arduino and program it to bit bang the hex files onto the 8051, this would be overkill as I'd be using a decently powerful device to program another one.
2. Get a bus-pirate, which if I'm reading correctly will provide me with a uart connection to my computer without much work, and program through that.

Both solutions cost the about the same (~30) but provide different other uses, the arduino a rapid prototyping platform, but the goal of this will be to work on the 8051, so this seems silly, but the use will be there. The bus pirate however will provide a easy to use ability to communicate over many other standard protocols that I will have need for later.

Given these considerations I'm leaning towards the bus pirate, but I'm wondering if anyone has any advice either way or alternate solutions before I make a decision. Or any terrible things I've overlooked.
WickedShell