Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.
0

si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by justforfun on Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:54 am

hi

I recently purchased the si4713-fm transmitter on https://www.adafruit.com/product/1958
and I have a problem
I uploaded the adaradio program with ought changing anything and the serial monitor says

Adafruit Radio-si4713 Test

Set TX power
Tuning into 102.30

and then nothing happens
so I tried changing the station to transmit on
nothing
I would like to use this so any help would be appreciated
Attachments
IMG_0226.jpg
IMG_0226.jpg (70.14 KiB) Viewed 58 times
IMG_0225.jpg
IMG_0225.jpg (84.47 KiB) Viewed 58 times
IMG_0221.jpg
IMG_0221.jpg (104.92 KiB) Viewed 60 times

justforfun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:10 am

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by mikeysklar on Fri Jul 31, 2020 12:29 pm

Hi justforfun,

It looks like you wiring is reasonable. Assuming your UNO R3 clone works like an arduino with the same pin numbers there is probably no issue there for the SCL / SDA / CS.

Are you toggling the RST line on startup?

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-si4 ... rt/pinouts

RST - This is the Reset pin. You must have this pin toggle before starting to communicate with the chip. When at logic 0, the chip is in reset.

mikeysklar
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by justforfun on Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:23 am

how do I toggle the RST

justforfun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:10 am

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by mikeysklar on Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:36 pm

Hello justforfun,

In our guide we tie RST to pin 12 of an Arduino.

Connect the RST pin to digital 12 - you can change this later but we want to match the tutorial for now


I do not see your si4713 RST pin hooked up in the photos youu provided. The example included with the si4713 library will take care of it from there.

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
#define RESETPIN 12


https://raw.githubusercontent.com/adafr ... aradio.ino

mikeysklar
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by justforfun on Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:43 pm

the RST pin is connected to digital twelve on Arduino and it is in the pictures

justforfun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:10 am

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by mikeysklar on Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:23 pm

Sorry, I was struggling to see the pin alignment with the labels and the breadboard in your photos.

Have you tried using a multimeter to check each connection. Just to confirm the wires and breadboard are making a full connection. The wiring is rather straight forward and it look like you have everything in place so it might be a loose connection between the UNO and the FM Radio.

Also, I would be curious if you uncomments the RPS Scanning code in the example if anything appears on the serial console.

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
  // Uncomment below to scan power of entire range from 87.5 to 108.0 MHz
/*
  for (uint16_t f  = 8750; f<10800; f+=10) {
   radio.readTuneMeasure(f);
   Serial.print("Measuring "); Serial.print(f); Serial.print("...");
   radio.readTuneStatus();
   Serial.println(radio.currNoiseLevel);
   }
*/

mikeysklar
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by justforfun on Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:20 am

it just says
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
adaradio test

or something like that

justforfun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:10 am

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by justforfun on Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:22 am

also I would like to know if there is an led on the transmitter because none turns on when powered up

justforfun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:10 am

Re: si4713-fm transmitter no rds on message

by mikeysklar on Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:56 pm

There are two LEDs on the FM Radio board which you can attempt to turn illuminate. This code should set them as outputs.

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
setGPIOctrl((1<<2) || (1<<1))


This line should turn them on.

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
setGPIOctrl((1<<2) || (1<<1))


https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-si4 ... -and-usage

GPIO Control
There's two GPIO pins you can use to blink LEDs. They are GPIO1 and GPIO2 - GPIO3 is used for the oscillator. To set them to be outputs call
setGPIOctrl(bitmask)
where the bitmask has a 1 bit for each of the two pins. For example to set GPIO2 to be an output use setGPIOctrl((1<<2)) to set both outputs, use setGPIOctrl((1<<2) || (1<<1))

Then you can set the output with
setGPIO(bitmask)
same idea with the bitmask, to turn both on, use setGPIOctrl((1<<2) || (1<<1)). To turn GPIO2 on and GPIO1 off, setGPIOctrl(1<<2)

mikeysklar
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.