Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Vending Machine Microcontroller
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Vending Machine Microcontroller

by maria9876 on Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:45 pm

Hi, I'm really new to all of this so I'm need a little help as to where to start and everything.

I'm trying to make a vending machine which will requiew 9 motors, 7 buttons, 1 motion sensor, 1 servo, and an ON/OFF switch. I was planning on using a micro controller to integrate all of these components and also writing some software for it so that it does things. For example, if I press, "B2" I want a certain motor to turn a certain number of rotations.

So, after having said all that, I'm not sure where to begin. What kind of a micro-controller should I buy to support so many motors and other components? What programming language should I use? Does it matter if I buy a specific kind of micro-controller?

As I said, I'm a newbie so I honestly have no clue about anything. Please give me some suggestions. Thanks!
maria9876

Re: Vending Machine Microcontroller

by cstratton on Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:51 pm

Well, you either need a micro with enough pins, or you need some sort of i/o expander to demultiplex its outputs. Some solutions for driving motors may bring that essentially for free.