Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Adapting Code for the 1-Key Keyboard
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Adapting Code for the 1-Key Keyboard

by Tiberius on Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:35 am

I posted this on V-USBs forums but I don't think it's very active. If anyone could help me out, that would be nice.

I have basic experience with the Atmega series of microcontrollers(simple IO, timers, interrupts, PWM) and wanted to try this project out:
http://blog.flipwork.nl/?x=entry:entry081009-142605

I wanted(for experimental and learning purposes) to use this code on an Atmega32 instead of the Attiny85 suggested in the blog.
Please tell me what I should look out for while editing and compiling the code.

Sourcecode from flipwork: http://blog.flipwork.nl/fp-content/attachs/1_key_keyboard.zip
Here is a list of things that I think need to be changed in the source code so that it will work:
1. In usbconfig.h, I changed the code to:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
    #define USB_CFG_IOPORTNAME      D
    #define USB_CFG_DMINUS_BIT      0
    #define USB_CFG_DPLUS_BIT       2 //because INT0 on the mega32 is PinD2

Anything else in usbconfig.h?

2.In main.c

static void timerInit(void)
    {
        TCCR1 = 0x0b;           /* select clock: 16.5M/1k -> overflow rate = 16.5M/256k = 62.94 Hz */

}

which is just setting the prescaler at CK/1024, so I thought I could do the same with TCCR1B= 5; // to set CS12 and CS10 (clk/1024)
for the Atmega32

3. My Atmega32's fuse bits have already been set for high frequency external crystal and I have both a 16Mhz and 12Mhz crystal. (I read that I can use either?)

Are there any other things I should be careful of while changing the code ?
Thank you.
Tiberius

Re: Adapting Code for the 1-Key Keyboard

by chatham on Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:28 pm