Adafruit is open and shipping! Let's build back better, together!

Burning Fuses?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Burning Fuses?

by mikeyp on Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:17 pm

Okay so I'm new to playing with microcontrollers, and I've got one question which is bugging me, and that's what exactly is all this talk about burning fuses? From reading about the minipov3 and if you're building from components not supplied my Limor, you're supposed to "burn" the fuses before you can program the chip, but I can't find any sort of explanation why this is necessary or what exactly it does to the chip? I'd sort of like to know what I'm doing to my chip before I do any permanent damage to it. Can anyone tell me what this is about or at least point me to something that will?
mikeyp

by CCarlson on Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:52 pm

Read here.

The rest of the tutorials are good, as well.
CCarlson

by mikeyp on Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:22 pm

ok cool, I understand. Next question not answered as far as I could see there, once set, can the fuses be changed? Say I wanted to reuse the chip for a different project and needed a different clock speed?
mikeyp

by dol-sen on Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:19 pm

Actually it was answered there.

from the Introductio:
You only need to set them once, but if you don't do it right, it's a disaster!

and from "What is a fuse"
there are also 3 bytes of permanent storage called the fuses
dol-sen

by magician13134 on Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:44 pm

Dumb question alert: Why do you need a proper fuse attached to program it? Couldn't you at least reprogram the fuse without having the right fuse?
magician13134

by mikeyp on Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:03 pm

dol-sen wrote:Actually it was answered there.

from the Introductio:
You only need to set them once, but if you don't do it right, it's a disaster!

and from "What is a fuse"
there are also 3 bytes of permanent storage called the fuses