0

same error over and over, :file not found, help if possible
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

same error over and over, :file not found, help if possible

by twillie2002 on Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:39 pm

I'm new to this but the 1st time I tried to program the ATTiny 45 chip it worked fine, now it allways gives me this error even using different hex files. I have it in my C:\windows, I have googled the problem but have had no luck, Any help please!

C:\Documents and Settings\twillie>avrdude -c usbtiny -p t45 -U flash:w:test_leds.hex

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.02s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9206
avrdude: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed

To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: reading input file "test_leds.hex"
avrdude: error opening test_leds.hex: No such file or directory
avrdude: input file test_leds.hex auto detected as invalid format
avrdude: can't open input file test_leds.hex: No such file or directory
avrdude: write to file 'test_leds.hex' failed

avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK

avrdude done. Thank you.
Thomas J Williams
twillie2002
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:31 pm

by adafruit on Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:42 pm

the programmer is fine as it is talking to the chip
the programming software cant find "test_leds.hex"
that is not a programmer problem, that is a missing file problem

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

by twillie2002 on Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:42 pm

I have the file in my windows directory, I don't understand in the command line where the path statement is that tells it where to look for the file, So I can check it or change it, In "dos" there was a line like: "c:\windows" telling where the file was. THANKS for the reply
Thomas J Williams
twillie2002
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:31 pm

by mtbf0 on Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:45 pm

pretty sure it will be looking for C:\Documents and Settings\twillie\test_leds.hex

if it's in c:\windows use the cd command to change your working directory
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
cd C:\windows


or it may be that
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
avrdude -c usbtiny -p t45 -U flash:w:c:\windows\test_leds.hex
would work, but that silly colon in the windows device specification might throw things off.

i'd suggest trying to escape the colon, but i've no idea what character to use in windows. where i come from we use \ but i just can't see that working.
"i want to lead a dissipate existence, play scratchy records and enjoy my decline" - iggy pop, i need more
User avatar
mtbf0
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:59 am
Location: oakland ca

by twillie2002 on Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:39 pm

Thanks! that worked, Can you tell me what in the origanal line is telling it to look in C:windows? just to help me understand. Again thanks I have it working now!!
Thomas J Williams
twillie2002
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:31 pm

by mtbf0 on Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:58 pm

assuming it was the cd command that did the trick, cd is a command to change your current working directory. by default your working directory is revealed in the windows commend line prompt, so the directory you were originally in was C:\Documents and Settings\twillie. here's what a piece of a windows command line session might look like when you issue a cd command...
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
C:\Documents and Settings\twillie>cd c:\windows
C:\Windows>cd
C:\Documents and Settings\twillie>

before issuing the cd command avrdude will attempt to find the file in C:\Documents and Settings\twillie and afterwards it will look in C:\Windows. if you want to return to your login directory just type cd with no arguments.
"i want to lead a dissipate existence, play scratchy records and enjoy my decline" - iggy pop, i need more
User avatar
mtbf0
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:59 am
Location: oakland ca

by twillie2002 on Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:13 am

Thanks I understand now , Thats why it worked before, it was already at c:windows and I was looking in the AVRDUDE command for info on file location. Back to the basics lesson for me!
Thomas J Williams
twillie2002
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:31 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.