Black Lives Matter - Action and Equality. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

MiniPov3 serial programming
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

MiniPov3 serial programming

by nadie on Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:54 am

I'm just getting into this microcontroller thing, and I was wondering if the way the MiniPov3
connects the ATtiny2313 to the serial interface could be used to serial program AVR
microcontrollers more generally. For example could I wire up an ATmega168 similarly
and program it? I had a look at the datasheets on the Atmel website (www.atmel.com)
and the serial programming interfaces look pretty much the same.

Ultimately I'd like to build a USB ISP, but for that I need to be able to program a microcontroller,
so starting with a serial programmer seems to be a simple way to bootstrap things.

If anyone knows of another way to build a serial programmer that doesn't have the
chicken-and-egg problem of needing to program a microprocessor to start with
I'd be very grateful to hear it.
nadie

Re: MiniPov3 serial programming

by franklin97355 on Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:05 pm

Have you looked at the USBTiny ISP from adafruit.com? It comes preprogrammed (IF you don't do something stupid like put the chip in backwards)

franklin97355

by oPossum on Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:32 pm

A simple serial or parallel programmer can be used with AVRDude to program the ATtiny2313 and other AVR chips.
The MiniPOV3 uses the serial "DASA" circuit.
A USB to serial cable may work for the serial programmer, but a USB to parallel cable will not work for the parallel programmer.

I am the Possum, and I approve of this message. Sent from MacBook Wheel Sorry for my bad German.
oPossum

by nadie on Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:07 pm

franklin97355 wrote:Have you looked at the USBTiny ISP from adafruit.com? It comes preprogrammed (IF you don't do something stupid like put the chip in backwards)