Black Lives Matter - Action and Equality. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

LED And Delay/Clock Question
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

LED And Delay/Clock Question

by jssavage10 on Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:41 pm

Hello,
I am brand new to the Arduino, well any sort of programming. I have read up on the code and think I have a decent idea of what I'm doing. I want to create the LED Menorah I'm sure many of you have seen at http://www.evilmadscientist.com/article.php/ledholiday. It drives eight LED's, one per day except for one which is on the entire cycle. First of all is that possible to do with Arduino?
If so, the questions that I have are how do you supply equal voltage to each LED as more are turned on each day? I know you can use HIGH and LOW on the digital pins, but does that just apply all of the power available? Then there is the analog pins which you can regulate the voltage through, but there is not eight analog pins.
And how would you tell it to wait a day between each one? I know there is a delay function, but it runs in milliseconds and it doesn't seem reasonable to use for that length of time. Is there some sort of clock that you can use?
Thanks for the help.
Jack Savage

P.S. Remember I'm just a novice, please don't get upset with me.
jssavage10

Re: LED And Delay/Clock Question

by jerrya on Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:48 pm

Sure, Arduino can do all that.

Turning a pin HIGH simply supplies 5v to the pin. You'll have to limit the current to the LED with a resistor of the right value (google for led resistor calculator). The controller in Arduino has limits, but 8 LEDs shouldn't be a problem. The digital HIGH value always outputs 5v. It's up to the circuit attached to the pin to determine how much current (amps) is drawn from that pin.