Wich kind of adafruit led is better for my project?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
balvarenga

Wich kind of adafruit led is better for my project?

Post by balvarenga »

Hello!
My name is Bianca, I'm from Brazil. I need help to chose what is the best hardware for my personal project.
I wanna make for a cosplay. Its going to cover my chin up to my nose. I intend to use your NeoPixels with an adafruit-arduino micro-controller board. My plan is to make them animate with simple pre-recorded frames.

It's my first time trying something with microcontrollers and I saw there are a lot of options for boards and I don't know what would attend the needs better.
Also I would like to know you opinion if it would be better to use a flexible NeoPixel Matrix for the mask or to sow solo neoPixels on a cloth.

I need the light point to be as close as possible to the other, or the draw I want to make will look a little bit weird if the leds dont stay very close! This detail is very important

Thank you so much for the help! I am very excited to start this project

Bianca Alvarenga

oesterle

Re: Wich kind of adafruit led is better for my project?

Post by oesterle »

Olá, Bianca!

Sounds like a fun project. Can you post a sketch, showing the placement of the individual LEDs, and the number of LEDs you're using?

Obrigado!

Eric

balvarenga

Post by balvarenga »

Hey, I dont know how many LEDs I need because I dont know it measures yet
But I believe I need a area of 16cmx8cm covered in leds to make the mask and the mouth I want to animate have teeth
Im afraid the singles are going to have a huge gap between them, I wish they could be as small and close as possible
Attachments
mouth 2.png
mouth 2.png (29.87 KiB) Viewed 498 times

oesterle

Post by oesterle »