Confusion for SSD1351 BMP Tutorial
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Confusion for SSD1351 BMP Tutorial

by dennisonb on Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:53 am

Hello, I have an Arduino Uno and a SSD1351 OLED Display. Disclaimer I am not experienced in this area.

When following this tutorial I manage to get the display to work using the wiring as listed in this particular tutorial.
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-1-5 ... g-and-test

However I have not been able to get the BMP tutorial working and am a bit confused.
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-1-5 ... ng-bitmaps

The wiring according to the tutorial does not work with the example code (stock, unchanged bmp sample code), despite the tutorial saying: "The Arduino connections listed below match the code in the "bmp" example from the library:". Display does not light up, nothing appears to happen. As a note, the abbreviations and names for pins are frustratingly not consistent across the tutorial and the example code.

Ok.

So, then there is a note: "Note that the Bitmap example code uses hardware SPI wiring for maximum speed. You can still use software SPI, but make sure that the pin definitions match your wiring and that you modify the example to select the Software SPI option (#1) in the code. The SPI pins shown are for Atmega-328 processors. To use this wiring on other processors, software SPI must be used."

However, there is no "option (#1)" in the code. So, I don't understand what this is supposed to refer to.

Ok.

Googling around many people seem to have this problem, and solve it, but with the unfortunate symptom in forums that once they solve it they never bother to post exactly what they did, so I'm left experimenting/wondering.

Thanks internet.

So I do find some helpful ideas and trying to figure out what all the references to hardware SPI and software SPI mean in this context, and I come to this modification: