Fona as a remote serial interface
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Fona as a remote serial interface

by wbuchanan on Sun Jul 14, 2019 3:37 pm

Hi, I am relatively new to Arduino and just purchased a couple of "Feathers" to learn with. What I would like to do is replace my present bluetooth interface (from my computer to my Arduino Due application) with a phone interface. Is it possible to use two "feathers" one on my computer and one attached to the Arduino Due so that I can use the present program on my computer to talk directly to the Arduino Due. Any help/direction is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

wbuchanan

Re: Fona as a remote serial interface

by relaxing on Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:58 am

Whether two cellular modems can talk directly to each other depends on the wireless carrier and network type. I've learned the hard way some network providers will route IP traffic that way, others won't.

You'd be better off to use the IOT tutorials to have one Fona post messages to a cloud server where the other Fona can retrieve it.

This assumes your Fonas are at such a distance that WiFi isn't an option? Or packet radio?

relaxing

by wbuchanan on Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:04 pm

Hi Relaxing, (wish I was relaxing...)